Female* Live In Carer GN4836

Reference:

Location:

Contract Type:

Salary/Hourly Rate:

GN4836

Lancing

Part Time

£1,309.00 per week (1 week in three)

Summary

Female* Live in Carer/Personal Care Assistant/Support Worker required to work 1 week in every 3 required for young woman living independently in own flat in Lancing

I have cerebral palsy and epilepsy and am physically unable to carry out most tasks but am passionate about my rights to live my life the way I choose and want full control over my independence

Assistance required with all aspects of my daily life, including  personal care, domestic tasks and accompanying me to social activities

I have a busy social life and am looking for friendly, outgoing carers who are able to support me with everything I need.

My carers are required to drive me in my own wheelchair adapted vehicle (need to be over 25 for insurance purposes)

If you are up for a challenge and can make a stonking cup of tea, you may be the right PA for me!

At least NVQ level 2 or 3 preferred

I will be contacting successful applicants after 27/3/2017 

 

Hours/Shifts

1 week in 3 From Monday 7pm – Monday 7pm

The live in role requires you to sleep here whilst on shift and be on call at night with very occasional assistance needed. You will have a two hour break during the day (sometimes longer when I am at university) for each 24 hour shift.  

Other Requirements

*Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 applies (male/female for personal care purposes)Yes

Must be comfortable with pets– happy with hairy cats

Must have a UK driving licence

Other : As this position involves you driving my car, I am restricted to employing people who are aged 25 years or over due to insurance rules

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

 

Description

Nature of the work:

Let me tell you about myself.  I am a young woman living independently in my own flat in Lancing. I have cerebral palsy and epilepsy and am physically unable to carry out most tasks.  I can use my phone, computer and can communicate clearly, however some people do find it difficult to understand what I am saying.

I am a friendly, intelligent, outgoing person.  I am passionate about my rights to live my life the way I choose and want full control over my independence. 

I enjoy going to the cinema, swimming, sailing, art classes and work. 

Typical duties

Domestic -    

Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing and putting away

Loading and unloading the washing machine

Changing bed linen

Bed making

General cleaning

Taking rubbish out

General household maintenance e.g. changing light bulbs, light gardening (e.g. re potting plants, dead heading and watering) taking down curtains for washing

Preparing drinks (I use a special mug as it takes too long with a straw. I also use aprons so I don’t get my clothes dirty), snacks and meals – you must be able to cook and or follow recipes as I don’t like ready meals

Shopping – I either go to Tesco in Shoreham, Lyons farm Sainsbury’s or on line shopping

Assist with grooming and feeding cats (training provided)

General tidying up

Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form filling, assisting with household paperwork

Making phone calls on my behalf when I am unwell to do this

Making tea for my guests

Personal Care:  

Washing and showering – towelling dry,  drying hair and brushing as required

Supervision and assistance throughout showering experience.  Sometimes I like to stay in the shower as the steam helps clear my chest.  You will be required to stay inside the bathroom or nearby where you can hear me

Help to get in and out of the shower as required using hoist.  In the mornings I will have 2 PAs to assist with this.  On other occasions you will be required to use the hoist by yourself

Assistance with applying cream when I have pressure sores

General skin and hair care

Dressing and undressing/helping with buttons and fastenings

Support to go to the toilet by either using a bottle or using the hoist to get me onto the toilet

Medication dispensing as directed by me i.e. helping to take the tablets from the foil/packets and putting the medication in my mouth

Assisting with getting in and out of bed using the hoist

Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting me to get changed in the swimming pool/gym

Getting me in and out of the wheelchair (‘transferring’)

Support at mealtimes e.g. preparing and cutting up food and assistance to eat.  I eat small bites of moist food for example spaghetti Bolognese and if I have a roast I like lots of gravy

You need to support me with chest physiotherapy exercises and other physiotherapy daily; training will be provided.

Sometimes, during cold weather, my hand will not be able to operate my wheelchair control so on these occasions  you must be happy to manually push my wheelchair

Social:            

Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required

Accompanying when clothes buying, including help with undressing/dressing and lifting clothes off the rails

Accompanying me when accessing social and leisure activities, including swimming and art classes

Occasional longer journeys e.g. to London by car or train to get my splints reviewed (once or twice a year)

Accompanying on trips out e.g. the vet, theatre group, work, pubs and cafes, cinema, theatre and shows

Attending work with me and being able to fit in, and help me carry out my work (admin skills will be required i.e. writing down a phone message for me, retrieving files, writing notes)

Attending university with me when my other PA is on holiday/sick (I will have a note taker at university but you will be required to help me drink/eat or go to the toilet if I need to) 

Some of the above duties will involve driving my car which I am wheeled into and my wheelchair is clamped to the floor

 

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

Female due to personal care tasks

Respectful of my privacy and confidentiality 

Reliable with good time-keeping

Able to follow instruction from me and also work on own initiative

Hygienic

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties 

Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills

Honest and cheerful

Someone who will take time to listen to me and work out what I want

Creative 

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the united kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of health and safety

Previous experience with epilepsy and the use of nebulisers ideal but training can be provided

Happy to drive long distances in my car which is manual 

Must like animals as I have 2 cats 

Smoking only allowed during your break, outside the property and not around me

Be happy to accompany me to church

Additional Information

This can be a difficult role and takes a special kind of person to fulfil it.  You need to be selfless and be able to take a lot of direction from me.