Female* Casual Personal Assistant DP4135

Reference:

Location:

Contract Type:

Salary/Hourly Rate:

DP4135

Chichester

Part Time

£11 per hour

Summary

Adventurous 45 year old lady with muscular dystrophy

Full time wheelchair user

Enjoys going out and seeing and experiencing new places 

Enjoys town, garden centres, lunch out and meeting people

Likes taking dogs for a walk to the beach and the woods

Looking for experienced female personal assistant to help with personal, social and domestic tasks.

Personal care assistant for help with showering, getting  dressed and doing  hair

Will be expected to accompany on trips out

There will be some domestic cleaning tasks required

I am looking for someone to work as and when needed so the hours will not be regular.

 

Hours/Shifts

As and when needed  (ad hoc hours)

Other Requirements

*Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 applies 

Must be comfortable with pets-3 dogs

Must have a UK driving licence

Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

 

Description

Nature of the work:

personal care

domestic chores

accompanying on trips out and to appointments

 

Typical duties

Domestic -      

Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away

Helping with laundry, washing and drying 

Loading and unloading the washing machine

Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line

Changing bed linen

Bed making

General cleaning

Taking out rubbish

General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming. 

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Shopping

Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week

Tidying

Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care:

Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair

Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required

Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required

Assistance with applying cream

General hair/skin care

Catheter care

Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings

Assistance with using a hoist

Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool/gym. 

Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') 

Social:        

Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required

Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming lessons, the gym, and karate. 

Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required

Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.

Occasional longer journeys

Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, the vet, meditation classes, yoga for people with ME, to see family. 

Driving and accompanying to social events such as:

Cinema

Church

University

Evening meetings

Accompanying on trips out e.g. to take photographs at the beach or in the woods or, visiting friends.

Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events, attending therapies and disability group 

The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car, 

 

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

Female * due to personal care needs  

Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality

Reliable with good time-keeping

Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative

Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills

Honest and cheerful

Creative

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred