Female* Personal Assistant/Care Support Worker DP79a

Reference:

Location:

Contract Type:

Salary/Hourly Rate:

DP79a

Ford nr Littlehampton

Part Time

£12 per hour

Summary

Somebody please help me. I have been a good girl in my life and have served queen and country for eight years. 

I now have secondary progressive multiple sclerosis that was diagnosed in 1997. I am now confined to a wheelchair and it’s a real bummer! 

I need weekend carers or a carer. 

There has got to be someone out there who will do weekends because I used to have to be available 365 days a year! 

The role includes some hoisting, personal care, toileting, preparing meals, feeding me and everything in between.

I do still have a sense of humour so a carer with a sense of humour would be good. 

 

Hours/Shifts

Every Sunday morning 9am to 1pm

Alternate Saturday and Sunday tea time 4pm to 6pm

Alternate Saturday and every Tuesday (not a weekend !) night 8pm to 9.30pm

Please apply if you can any of the above shifts 

Other Requirements

"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9." 

Must be comfortable with pets

Must have a UK driving licence

Must have access to own vehicle

Other-Experience of supporting individuals with Autism and/or Learning Difficulties is desirable.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be issued employment contracts.

 

Description

About the employer:

I am a woman with Multiple Sclerosis, before my disability took hold I was a very energetic, sporty person, even playing rugby! So, I like to keep up to date on sporting interests. I’m computer and internet literate and use the computer to help keep my brain ticking over! 

Typical duties

Personal Care -

Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair

Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required

To be on call when employer takes bath/Shower

Assistance with applying cream

General hair/skin care

Catheter care

Assisting with Bowel evacuation

Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings

Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist

Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat

Any other reasonable task 

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

Female/ * due to personal care needs

Able to tolerate the employer smoking in the work place

Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality

Reliable with good time-keeping

Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative

Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills

Honest and cheerful

Creative

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety