Job Title: Female Support Workers/Personal Care Assistants
Location: East Preston, West Sussex
Hourly rate: £9.70
Reference: BRR7129
Hours/shifts: 

Saturday and Sunday 8.00am-10.00am, 12.00pm-2.00pm,

                      5.00pm-8.00pm

                      14 hours per week in total.  Please apply for the shifts you are able

                      to do. 

Summary 
• My mum is an independent 89 year old living in a bungalow along with her cat.
• She has lived a rich and full life, travelled the world and has rubbed shoulders with some celebrities. She has a large family who are mostly spread around the world.
• Mum used to be a very keen gardener winning prizes, a keen amateur drama participant and a good cook.
• Although she is physically fit (she takes no medication) she does have vascular dementia and Alzheimer’s. This mainly manifests as losing track of time, where things are, whether she has eaten, mixed memories /storytelling.
• You should have experience and training in dementia, be patient and cheerful, like cats and dogs and be a non-smoker.
• You must be a driver with your own car.
• You would report directly to me, her son, as your employer. My wife and I live locally and will probably be on hand from time to time and she has the help of a cleaner/companion twice a week.
• We pop in most days for a chat or an outing but we need something more structured for her now.

• Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9." Female for personal care purposes.
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties
Domestic - 
• Making breakfast/lunch/dinner/snacks/drinks,
• Washing up and tidying the kitchen,
• Popping to the local shops,
• Feeding cat when needed (sometimes the cat gets locked in a room and may make a mess that needs attending to),
• Hoovering and tidying around where necessary.
• Taking out the bins.
• She loves her garden so some light gardening duties may be helpful but not necessary

Personal Care: 

• Helping with showering, washing and drying hair,
• Helping choose outfits.
• Sometimes she may miss the loo and needs assistance (rarely)
Social: (please add in/delete as applicable)
• Doing puzzles and crosswords, taking out on small local outings (coffee shop, garden centre, meeting friends & family etc.)
• Accompanying to appointments such as dentist/doctor, hairdresser
• Reminiscing and motivating to take an interest in things.
• Keeping a diary of what she has done.
Lending an arm when out and about so that she can walk with your assistance

• Finding lost things! Mum is always hiding her keys/handbag/money etc. and we can spend a lot of time searching for these!

• Calling family and friends on the phone or video for a chat

• Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female due to personal care needs
• Have experience and training with dementia
• Patient and caring
• Driver with own car
• Non smoker (including vape)
• Enjoy conversation
• Like a garden
• Like cats and dogs (family sometimes bring the dogs round for a visit)
• Honest and cheerful
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Hygienic, tidy minded, hygienic and well presented

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives.