Location: Haywards Heath / Hourly rate: £10 / Reference: DP3690

Summary

We require a PA to help with my son age 11 who has cerebral palsy and is non verbal but has a great sense of humour and loves music

We are a friendly, chilled out family with 2 mad Labradors, we have a fully adapted house with hoists etc.

Initially we would require you for 2 mornings a week (thur and Fri) from 0745 – 0915 and Fri afternoon from 3.30 – 5.30, (either mornings or afternoon if you can’t do both)increasing if desired to possibly 5 mornings a week plus adhoc babysitting if available 

Hours/Shifts

Mornings 07:45 – 09:15 am Thurs and Fri, Fri 3.30 – 5.30 pm.

More hours to suit if required 

Other Requirements

Must be comfortable with pets (2 dogs)

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts. 

Description

Typical duties

Personal Care:   

  • Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
  • Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
  • All aspects of personal care
  • Dressing and undressing
  • Getting into bed
  • Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
  • Help with dispensing medication
  • Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') 

Person specification

The successful applicant will be:

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
  • Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.