Job Title: Carer/Personal Assistant

Location:  New Addington, Croydon          

Hourly rate: £10       

Reference: AH224            

Hours/shifts: 10-11 hours per week, over a few days, flexibility available. To be discussed.

Summary:

I’m a friendly person and I like to chat. I enjoy music, television and playing some games on my iPad. I also have 2 cats so a carer who shares similar interests and isn’t bothered by cats would be ideal.

This role to help and support me with domestic tasks around the home. I try and be as independent as possible but need some encouragement and support to manage the ongoing tasks. I would like to work along side the carer to get my domestic tasks completed.

Part of this role is to accompany me on social trips to have a meal out or similar. I have a car and an applicant that is willing to drive my car is desirable but not essential to the role. There is free parking at my property and free training available to the successful applicant.

Other Requirements:      

  • Must be comfortable with cats
  • Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
  • (or) Non smoker required due to medical reasons

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description - Typical duties

Domestic:

Encourage and assist me when needed to:

Un/loading washing machine, hanging clothes to dry, fold and put away laundry

Changing bed linen

Bed making

Washing up

Taking out rubbish

General light household tidying and cleaning – dusting, vacuuming etc.

On occasion to assist me to cook - opening jars or cans

On occasion preparing drinks, snacks and meals

Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week

Reply to correspondence e.g. reading letters, writing replies, form-filling etc.

Care of the cats (if needed)

Some technical support (if possible).

Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

On occasion some light shopping

Personal Care: 

I’m independent with personal care tasks but need some encouragement and prompting to:

Wash/shower

Change clothes

Comb hair

Cut/file nails

Oral care

On occasion assistance popping medication from the packets.

Social:

Accompany me to hospital apps when required

Accompany me for social trips for breakfast or lunch, visits out.

For the above tasks I travel in my car, have a mobility scooter, or use my crutches to mobilise.

Carer to dive my care desirable but not a requirement

Other:

Any other reasonable tasks requested.

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

Comfortable around cats

UK driving license holder and willing to drive my care (desirable)

Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality

Reliable with good time-keeping

Honest and trustworthy

Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative

Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills

Honest, cheerful and creative

Chatty and happy to chat to me while working

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Vaccinated against COVID-19

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives