Job Title: Carers/ Personal Assistants
Location: Climping
Hourly rate: £10 per hour. Overnight rate is to be negotiated
Reference: DP5288
Hours/shifts: Weekly x70 hours available for job share, Monday to Sunday 8am-7pm
My husband is generally away for business once or twice a month, when extended hours are necessary in the evening, with an overnight stay.
Plus bank for holiday and sickness cover

Summary 
I am a 40-year-old mum of 1. I live with my husband and daughter, in Climping, Littlehampton. My daughter is 12 years old. I have an assistance dog, and a pet cat.

I have vacancies for two carers/PAs, to job share, to help me remain independent in my own home. I will also need bank staff to cover holiday and sickness.

I like to try new things and to be as independent as I can be and I need lots of help to do that.

Other Requirements (please edit as appropriate)
• Must be comfortable with pets (I have a cat and dog)
• Must have a UK driving licence and be able to drive my car
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - 
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea/coffee for the employer's guests
Assisting me to use my standing frame everyday (training to be given)
Washing and ironing
Gardening
Baking
Preparing meals

Personal Care: 
• Washing and bathing/showering
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing as required
• Help getting into and out of shower as required
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Catheter care
• Using the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
• Help with dispensing tablets
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool.
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food
• Physiotherapy exercises

Social: 
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, the vet, to see friends and family.
• Driving and accompanying to social events such as:
• Cinema
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. to take photographs at the beach or in the woods or, visiting friends.
• Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events, attending therapies and disability group
• Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
• The above duties will involve driving the employer in the employer’s car/WAV, and applying wheelchair restraints/seatbelt - occasional longer journeys
• Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities

Person specification
It is important to:
• Have a positive outlook
• Be honest and cheerful
• Have common sense and a good sense of humour
• Be hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Be fit and conscious of nutrition
• Be able to follow instructions, but also to work under your own initiative when I am resting.

You must be:
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
• Experienced in care work

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives