Job Title: Companion
Location: Ashington
Hourly rate: £12.00 an hour
Reference: DP5200
Hours/shifts: 15 hours a week – very flexible – shift pattern can be discussed at interview. Job share preferable.

Summary 

• We are looking for a fun, energetic companion, to support my 27 year old daughter who suffered a traumatic brain injury in a car crash 9 years ago. They would need to support her with accessing social opportunities, to share experiences and to offer some respite for mum.
• You would also need to support her in domestic tasks to improve her independence, for example food shopping and preparation, laundry and cleaning and tidying up and walking the dogs.
• The ideal candidate should be proactive in seeking out and suggesting new, stimulating experiences for our daughter.

Other Requirements 
• Must be comfortable with pets, horses and other farm animals
• Must have a clean UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle

• Other :
Must be fully vaccinated against Covid 19.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
My daughter is a 27 year old woman who suffered a traumatic brain injury in a car crash 9 years ago. She has fought and worked hard to rebuild her life with the support of her parents, whom she lives with. Mum is the main carer.
My daughter had a busy life prior to the pandemic, riding weekly with the RDA and being a member of a health club and a gym. She completed her Fine Art Degree in June 2020 and continues to make Art regularly now. She has singing lessons and likes to grow veg and flowers in the garden.
She also has 2 dogs, who are a very important part of the household. Recently she has been attending and working at a nearby animal farm on Wednesday afternoons. We are always looking for new opportunities and activities.
My daughter has become a Baking enthusiast since the pandemic.
Sadly, my daughter has no siblings or close extended family and her school friends have all moved on leaving her with no social life and little opportunity to meet new friends. She wants to be more independent and at some stage live in her own home.
My daughter can now walk, but needs supervision and support. Both arms and hands have restrictions. She has a mobility scooter for long excursions and a stick for shorter walks. She remembers her life before her accident, but can get confused and has short term memory loss. She can also have dramatic mood changes. She is strong, determined, loving and has a great sense of humour.
She loves animals and her Facebook is littered with cute pics, she wants to have a menagerie one day. She watches Eastenders and Neighbours and reruns of Friends and plays numerous candy crush type games on her tablet and phone.

Typical duties
Domestic -
Only in relation to supporting her to do domestic tasks. And making drinks or refreshments in absence of mum

Support and supervise my daughter to bake

Personal Care: 
My daughter manages her own personal care well, with occasional support from mum

Social: 
Driving and accompanying her to places organised activities and to places of interest, eg cinema, pub, open gardens, clubs.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
Someone who has the ability to relate to her and her interests.
An animal lover with a sense of fun and humour whilst taking responsibility for my daughter’s welfare.
Flexibility and adaptability

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.