Job Title: Cover Female * Personal Care Assistants
Location: Crawley
Hourly rate: Weekdays £11.50 , Weekends £13.50
Reference: NDS7158
Hours/shifts: To cover holiday and sickness of other PA's regular hours. 1.5 hours early evenings x 7 days per week.  Times can be negotiable.

Summary 
I am an upfront, caring and generous lady looking for a PA or PA’s who would be happy to put up with my love of cleanliness and take on my way of doing things (My family would probably say I’m over clean!)
I love to read, equipping myself with knowledge, particularly science, scientific research and statistics and believe that the numbers don’t lie!
I need help making sure I am living as best as I possibly can rather than living in a mess as I cannot do everything anymore. I need help with personal care and some domestic tasks. I hope to find someone who is willing to learn about my diet and what I need to eat as support with cooking will be required.
My illness is unpredictable; sometimes I am exhausted but on a good day I would like to go out for some fresh air. This may require some driving, but this is not essential for the role as we can work around it.

Other Requirements
• *"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets, I have a dog.
• Non smoker required due to medical reasons
• Access to own vehicle and a clean UK driving license is preferred, but not a requirement.
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - 
Helping with laundry, washing and drying and putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
Preparing drinks, snacks and cooking meals
Shopping
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Personal Care: 
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering/bathing and be on call, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• To be on call when employer takes bath
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Emptying and cleaning the commode
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed if required
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• A little support getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring'), when I’m feeling very unwell.
• Support with occasional physiotherapy exercises, help with stretching legs as they can get stiff.
• Other personal care tasks as and when.

Social: 
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, e.g. going to the park.
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. the vets, dentist and the opticians.
• Occasional Jehovah’s Witness meetings
• The above duties will involve driving me in your car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, supporting me with accessing and using other equipment and pushing me in the wheelchair when out and about.

Person Specification:

• Female * due to personal care needs
• Kind, empathetic.
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives