Job Title: Dari Speaking Personal Care Assistant / Support worker
Location: South Croydon, near South Croydon train station
Hourly rate: £9.75
Reference: AH265
Hours/shifts: 28 hours per week, Monday to Friday. Some flexibility available, to be discussed. Ideally: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 10am-4pm. Thursday and Tuesday 10am -3pm.

Summary:
I am a 40-something year old lady and very optimistic about life. I need a female personal assistant who speaks Dari to communicate with me as my heath has prevented my for communicating in English.

I enjoy going to the gym every other day, my goal in life is to remain as healthy as possible and I need some help to do this. Tasks will include helping me wash, dress, do my hair and help me to eat. I need some assistance with domestic tasks like cleaning and managing my home while my husband is at work.

Other Requirements
• Must be female "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be able to speak Dari as this will be primary language.
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description - Typical duties

Domestic:
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Bed making, changing bed linen
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Personal Care:
• Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
• Assistance with applying cream
• Using the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
• Physiotherapy exercises
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at gym.

Social:
Accompany and assisting when attending the gym and using gym machines.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
Able to speak Dari.
Female* due to personal care needs
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives