Location: East Grinstead / Hourly rate: £12.50 / Reference: DP5319

Summary

  • I am a lady in my 50’s and require a support worker / personal assistant for personal care, some housework & to enable me to live independently.
  • I have Parkinson’s disease & ideally I would prefer applicants to have some  previous experience
  • I am fair minded, generous and a happy person 

Hours/Shifts

4 hours in total.

Saturday 2 hours in the morning (9am – 11am or 10am – 12pm) & 1 hour in the evening 5pm – 6pm

Sunday 5pm – 6pm 

Other Requirements

4 hours in total.

Saturday 2 hours in the morning (9am – 11am or 10am – 12pm) & 1 hour in the evening 5pm – 6pm

Sunday 5pm – 6pm 

Description

Nature of the work:

  • Personal Care
  • Housework and laundry
  • Social / Recreational Activities 

Typical duties

Domestic -      

  • Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
  • Helping with laundry, washing and drying 
  • Loading and unloading the washing machine
  • Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
  • Changing bed linen / Bed making
  • Taking out rubbish
  • General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming. 
  • Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
  • Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
  • Shopping
  • Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
  • Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Personal Care:  

  • Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
  • General hair/skin care
  • Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
  • Physiotherapy exercises 

Social:          

  • Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
  • Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
  • Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
  • Occasional longer journeys
  • Driving and accompanying to social events such as Cinema
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits & visiting friends.
  • The above duties may involve driving the employer in the PA’s car, for which mileage will be reimbursed. 

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Female * due to personal care needs  
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
  • Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.