Job Title: Female* Carer/Personal Care Assistant
Location: Lancing
Hourly rate: £8.91 per hour
Reference: DP4836a
Hours/shifts: Monday – Sunday. To be on site for 22 hours per day. To get me up in the morning then have a 9am-11am break as your free time. I will then need you to be with me for the day as and when I need support. Nights are sleeping night shifts but I have a personal alarm if needed.
You will be required to work 1 week in 3

Summary 

I am a young, friendly woman looking for a Female* Personal Care Assistant to work as a live in carer and join an existing team of PA’s.

I have cerebral palsy and epilepsy and am physically unable to carry out most tasks but am passionate about my rights to live my life the way I choose and want full control over my independence.

Assistance is required with all aspects of my daily life, including personal care, domestic tasks and accompanying me to social activities.

I have a busy social life and am looking for friendly, outgoing carers who are able to support me with everything I need. This role will require you to drive me in my own wheelchair adapted vehicle.

If you are up for a challenge and can make a stonking cup of tea, you may be the right PA for me!

NVQ qualifications are preferred but are not a requirement.

The successful candidate will be required to complete nebuliser training.

Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets and not allergic to cats as I have 2.
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours or away from the house during their break.
• Must have a UK driving license
• Other : As this position involves you driving my car, I am restricted to employing people who are aged 25 years or over due to insurance rules

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - 
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing and putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Changing bed linen and making beds
Taking rubbish out
General household maintenance e.g. changing light bulbs, light gardening (e.g. re potting plants, dead heading and watering) taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks snacks and meals – you must be able to cook and or follow recipes as I don’t like ready meals
Assisting with shopping
Assist with grooming and feeding cats (training provided)
General cleaning and tidying up when required.
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am unwell to do this
Making tea for my guests


Personal Care: 
Washing and showering – towelling dry, drying hair and brushing as required
Supervision and assistance throughout showering experience.
Help to get in and out of the shower as required using hoist. In the mornings I will have 2 PAs to assist with this. On other occasions you will be required to use the hoist by yourself.
Assistance with applying cream if required.
General skin and hair care
Dressing and undressing including help with buttons and fastenings
Support to go to the toilet by either using a bottle or using the hoist to get me onto the toilet
Medication dispensing as directed by me i.e. helping to take the tablets from the foil/packets and putting the medication in my mouth. Support when using Nebuliser.
Assisting with getting in and out of bed using the hoist
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting me to get changed in the swimming pool/gym and be happy to get the pool with me.
Getting me in and out of the wheelchair
Support at mealtimes e.g. preparing and cutting up food and assistance to eat.
You need to support me with chest physiotherapy exercises and other physiotherapy daily; training will be provided.
You must be happy to manually push my wheelchair when needed
Support with other reasonable care tasks when required

Social: 
Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required
Accompanying when clothes buying, including help with undressing/dressing and lifting clothes off the rails
Accompanying me when accessing social and leisure activities, including swimming and art classes and seeing friends.
Accompanying me on longer journeys e.g. to London by car or train to get my splints reviewed
Accompanying on trips out e.g. the vet, the church, theatre group, work, pubs and cafes, cinema, theatre and shows
Some of the above duties will involve driving my car which I am wheeled into and my wheelchair is clamped to the floor and pushing my manual wheelchair when out.

 Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
Female* due to personal care tasks
Respectful of my privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to follow instruction from me and also work on own initiative
Hygienic
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest, cheerful and creative
Someone who will take time to listen to me and work out what I want
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the united kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of health and safety
Previous experience with epilepsy and the use of nebulisers ideal but training can be provided

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives