Job Title: Female* Live in Carer/Personal Care Assistant/ Support Worker

Location:             Lancing

Hourly rate:         £8.50 per hour

Reference:              DP4836

Hours/shifts: 1 week in 3- live in-154hrs. 6th May 2018 ‘til August 2018-may be extended-this is urgent. Also September 2018-January 2019 hours same as 1st post., both posts are temporary to cover sickness

 

Summary

  • Female* Live in Carer/Personal Care Assistant/Support Worker required to work for young woman living independently in own flat in Lancing
  • I have cerebral palsy and epilepsy and am physically unable to carry out most tasks but am passionate about my rights to live my life the way I choose and want full control over my independence
  • Assistance required with all aspects of my daily life, including personal care, domestic tasks and accompanying me to social activities
  • I have a busy social life and am looking for friendly, outgoing carers who are able to support me with everything I need.
  • My carers are required to drive me in my own wheelchair adapted vehicle (need to be over 25 for insurance purposes)
  • If you are up for a challenge and can make a stonking cup of tea, you may be the right PA for me!
  • At least NVQ level 2 or 3 preferred

 Other Requirements 

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Must have access to own vehicle
  • Other : As this position involves you driving my car, I am restricted to employing people who are aged 25 years or over due to insurance rules

 

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -       

Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing and putting away

Loading and unloading the washing machine

Changing bed linen

Bed making

General cleaning

Taking rubbish out

General household maintenance e.g. changing light bulbs, light gardening (e.g. re potting plants, dead heading and watering) taking down curtains for washing

Preparing drinks (I use a special mug as it takes too long with a straw. I also use aprons so I don’t get my clothes dirty), snacks and meals – you must be able to cook and or follow recipes as I don’t like ready meals

Shopping – I either go to Tesco in Shoreham, Lyons farm Sainsbury’s or on line shopping

Assist with grooming and feeding cats (training provided)

General tidying up

Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form filling, assisting with household paperwork

Making phone calls on my behalf when I am unwell to do this

Making tea for my guests

 

Personal Care: 

Washing and showering – towelling dry,  drying hair and brushing as required

Supervision and assistance throughout showering experience.  Sometimes I like to stay in the shower as the steam helps clear my chest.  You will be required to stay inside the bathroom or nearby where you can hear me

Help to get in and out of the shower as required using hoist.  In the mornings I will have 2 PAs to assist with this.  On other occasions you will be required to use the hoist by yourself

Assistance with applying cream when I have pressure sores

General skin and hair care

Dressing and undressing/helping with buttons and fastenings

Support to go to the toilet by either using a bottle or using the hoist to get me onto the toilet

Medication dispensing as directed by me i.e. helping to take the tablets from the foil/packets and putting the medication in my mouth

Assisting with getting in and out of bed using the hoist

Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting me to get changed in the swimming pool/gym

Getting me in and out of the wheelchair (‘transferring’)

Support at mealtimes e.g. preparing and cutting up food and assistance to eat.  I eat small bites of moist food for example spaghetti Bolognese and if I have a roast I like lots of gravy

You need to support me with chest physiotherapy exercises and other physiotherapy daily; training will be provided.

Sometimes, during cold weather, my hand will not be able to operate my wheelchair control so on these occasions  you must be happy to manually push my wheelchair

 

Social:   

 Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required

Accompanying when clothes buying, including help with undressing/dressing and lifting clothes off the rails

Accompanying me when accessing social and leisure activities, including swimming and art classes

Occasional longer journeys e.g. to London by car or train to get my splints reviewed (once or twice a year)

Accompanying on trips out e.g. the vet, theatre group, work, pubs and cafes, cinema, theatre and shows

Attending work with me and being able to fit in, and help me carry out my work (admin skills will be required i.e. writing down a phone message for me, retrieving files, writing notes)

Attending university with me when my other PA is on holiday/sick (I will have a note taker at university but you will be required to help me drink/eat or go to the toilet if I need to)

Some of the above duties will involve driving my car which I am wheeled into and my wheelchair is clamped to the floor

Person specification

 The successful applicant will be: 

Female due to personal care tasks

Respectful of my privacy and confidentiality

Reliable with good time-keeping

Able to follow instruction from me and also work on own initiative

Hygienic

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills

Honest and cheerful

Someone who will take time to listen to me and work out what I want

Creative

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the united kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of health and safety

Previous experience with epilepsy and the use of nebulisers ideal but training can be provided

Happy to drive long distances in my car which is manual

Must like animals as I have 2 cats

Smoking only allowed during your break, outside the property and not around me

Be happy to accompany me to church

 This can be a difficult role and takes a special kind of person to fulfil it.  You need to be selfless and be able to take a lot of direction from me.