Job Title: PA
Location: Horsham
Hourly rate: £11
Reference: DP5912
Hours/shifts: 10.5 hours per week possibly over 2/3 shifts (times and days to be agreed)
Summary

I am a 51 year female sex/bodied agender person (they/them/their pronouns, neither male nor female gender) with Multiple Sclerosis, Asperger’s (including executive dysfunction and resistance to change), Type II Diabetes, chemical sensitivities, food intolerances, Clinical Depression, Complex PTSD (cPTSD) and chronic migraine. I am also occasionally deaf and will need you to allow me to lipread.
I enjoy knitting, spinning and occasional crochet. I am competent with IT & enjoy using the internet & playing online games.
I also enjoy photography.

The majority of the work will be to help me to organise myself, remind me about everyday routine tasks that you cannot do for me & to help with my correspondence.
I require someone who can prepare (and batch cook for the fridge) nutritional meals, maintain the recipe folder and shop for me on occasions, claiming anything you need to spend like this on expenses. Let me know if anything is running out so I can add it to my next Tesco delivery order.
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming. Cleaning loo and bathroom.
The role will include driving & accompanying me to hospital / doctor appointments as well as other trips out. e.g. I would like to be able to attend a knitting group at Horsham Library on Thursday afternoons (14:00 - 16:00).

Other Requirements
Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

If possible I need help with cleaning the litter tray of my indoors-only cat, Thrilla. I also need to not let him escape out of my front door but he has a wanderlust (he was born feral/wild/stray) and tries to escape given half a chance.

Description


Typical duties


Domestic -
Assistance with laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away and reminding me when these need doing by checking the linen basket in bedroom one.
Check if items can be tumbled before tumble drying anything.
Reminding me to do basic household chores.
Reminding me and helping me with about minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping.
Tidying & reminding me to tidy.
Correspondence e.g. reminding me to open post, filing, reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork.
Making phone calls on my behalf .
Making tea for my guests.
Scooping the cat litter tray every visit. Changing the litter tray completely once per week. Once per month (or every four weeks?) disinfect the empty litter tray and refill it.
Make sure the cat water bowl is full.
Reminding me and helping with changing bed linen every four weeks.
Any wiping down that needs doing e.g. kitchen and bathroom mirror.
Take recycling down to the refuse store as needed.


N.B. When I say reminding, PLEASE do not nag or joke about. my cPTSD is easily triggered.

❏ Washing up, drying up and putting away. Wipe down counters.
❏ Clean loo & change cistern block if loo water is not blue.
❏ Wash bathroom floor if it needs it.
❏ Vacuum (empty vacuum as you go along - it fills fast because of Thrilla’s fur).
❏ Empty bins (5) if full and take recycling bin in hall down to refuse store to empty it so as not to waste a plastic bin liner.
❏ Dusting.
❏ Wipe down window sills.
❏ Dust cobwebs on balcony railings if there are any (and if there is time).
❏ Fill loo roll tube by loo from cupboard near front door.

Personal Care:

Assistance with applying creams/lotions as needed. Assistance with applying creams/lotions.
Reminding to Shower
Teeth cleaning
Cutting toenails after soaking feet.
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed in swimming pool/gym.
Physiotherapy exercises on occasions


Community living tasks:
Accompanying, driving and assisting/supporting me on shopping trips and to appointments.
Accompanying me when accessing social and leisure activities, such as the gym or the library.
Accompanying me & driving me to doctors/hospital appointments.
Occasional longer journeys.
Accompanying me & driving me on trips out e.g. to the Knit & Natter club at the library on Thursday afternoons at Horsham Library.
The above duties will involve driving me in your car for which mileage will be reimbursed

Other tasks:


Take items to the post office to post them.
Keep things where I know where they are - i.e. where I have placed them. e.g. put things back where you find them when cleaning.
Help me to organise filing and drawers.
Water plants on kitchen windowsill.


The successful applicant will be:

Female with respect to personal care needs.
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality.
Reliable with good time-keeping.
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative / be proactive within reason.
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised.
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties.
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills.
Honest and cheerful.
Creative and caring.
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard.
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom.
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety.
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.