Job Title: Female PA/Support Worker
Location: Nyewood near Pertersfield
Hourly rate: £10 an hr
Reference: CZ3148
Hours/shifts: Up to 7.5 hrs per week and some school holiday work

Summary


• My daughter is a tenacious, kind and caring 18 year old with a rare genetic disorder (caused by an enzyme deficiency) but despite being compromised by her condition her positive attitude allows her to lead a good quality of life.
• She attends college and is very much respected and liked by everyone she meets
• She has excellent communication skills and no behavioural issues
• I am looking for that special person who can support her to develop her social network whilst allowing her to have fun.
• She is a real ‘foodie’, loves yoga, theatre cinema and shopping and also rides with the RDA
• She is a member of a health club and her PA will have access to the gym and pool too, to enable her to use the facilities
• The Support will mostly at the weekend eg Saturday or possibly Sunday sometime between 9.30am- 4.30pm to enable her to get out and about and share her interests with her PA.
• You may also need support with hydrotherapy and RDA and occasionally help with medical infusions but this is not essential.


Other Requirements


• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Must be happy to work in a smoking environment
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Description
Typical duties


Domestic -
An arm when moving around, encouragement and help tidying up, preparing food, making her bed.

Personal Care:
Help with buttons, zips, laces (we try to avoid these). Dressing and undressing if showering / using a pool / gym
Help in/ out shower. Help with hair.


Social:
Helping to access a social life, going to the shops, attending a course – art/ baking, Use of money at the shops, managing her money, planning generally, social, college work.
Going to art galleries, cinema, theatre, horse riding, summer events

Supporting her by listening to her. She’s a typical teenager in many ways and would like to discuss concerns or interests with a friend.

This person(s) has to be a bit special. This is a lovely job, but it requires commitment and a great deal of kindness, patience and dedication (although she is not particularly hard work) . Physical strength and good health is essential. she is slight but needs physical support.

Saturday work is essential but not necessarily every Saturday (parents are playing and transporting other family members to sporting events )
Possibly picking up from college and taking MB to physio session – Friday afternoon / horse riding Monday afternoons.

Timetable can be worked out and adjusted to suit. There could be some flexibility

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:


Female * due to personal care needs
• Non smoker
• Be a driver with own car
• Someone who is cheerful and selfless and genuinely interested (not tied to their phone)
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Self assured and confident but not too overbearing
• Be happy to try anything
• Be happy to chat and be a good listener
• Have a ‘can do’ and subtly guide to expand independence
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.