Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Location:  Chichester          
Hourly rate: £10.50 weekdays and £11.00 weekends      
Reference: CZ6950            
Hours/shifts: 3 hrs each day flexible but usually during school hours. Extra hours also available as needed. Job share available.
Summary 
•  I am looking for enthusiastic female PA’s with good sense of humour to support me at home
• The role will be to assist me with some personal care, a bit of cleaning and to go out and about
• I enjoy swimming, going to the cinema and would like to give wheelchair racing a go.
• I require a driver with their own car so we are able to go out and you would need to like dogs
• This is a rewarding role and any training will be given either in house or on relevant courses.
• The hours are up to 25 a week and this could be a job share opportunity so please apply if you are available for any of the days.
• I would require a non smoker due to my medical conditions.
Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."  
• Must be comfortable with pets  
• Must have a UK driving licence 
• Must have access to own vehicle 
• Other :  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
The role is to support a lady who uses a wheelchair with everyday activities including some personal care, general cleaning and accessing the community.
Typical duties
Domestic -        
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Getting isotonic drinks ready and reminding me to drink them
Shopping
Posting letters
Help filling in certain forms
Walking my dog with or without me
Personal Care:  
• Help with washing hair
• Helping to get dressed
• Help getting into and out of shower as required
• Help with putting medication into dossit box 
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting to get changed at swimming pool/gym
• Help and encourage with physiotherapy exercises
• Knowing how to administer emergency medication – training will be given
Social:        
• Helping me to organise myself so I don’t take on too much
• Accompanying and assisting on shopping trips when required
• Accompany when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming, cinema, and wheelchair racing
• Accompany me to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Occasional longer journeys
• The above duties will involve lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car
 Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
• Female * due to personal care needs 
• Non smoker
• Like dogs
• Driver with own car – mileage will be paid when taking me out
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.
Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly through the individual employer and not Independent Lives.