Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Location: Birdham (Chichester)
Hourly rate: £12.00 (with potential increase)
Reference: DP3223
Hours/shifts: Mon-Fri 11:00am – 3:00pm and Sat & Sun 12pm – 2pm – job share available, so please apply if you can do any of the above shifts

Summary
● I am a friendly woman in her forties, who is a full time wheelchair user, looking for a PA to support me and retain my independence.
● The role will involve personal care, domestic tasks and supporting me to get out and about

● I suffer from different levels of pain from day to day and the tasks I can do vary as such. So I am looking for assistants who are proactive and flexible.

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Confident Driver who is able to drive my vehicle

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning of employers bedroom
Taking out rubbish
Minor household maintenance e.g. changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping (subject to request)
Morning dog walking (as per request of the employer)
Assistance taking dog/ cats to vet appointments
Tidying after employer (picking objects off the floor)
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care: 
● Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair subject to the employers request. This will vary from day to day as when I am well I independent and able to do this, however when unwell I will require help.
● Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required. Again I am when well I am independent and prefer my privacy, however will require assistance to be on standby should I need help.
● Help getting into and out of shower in wet room as required
● To be on call when employer takes shower
● Assistance with applying cream (subject to employers request)
● General hair/skin care. Making hair appointments on behalf of employer
● Catheter care (subject to employers request)
● Using the toilet (subject to employers request)
● Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings subject to employers request
● Getting into bed (subject to employers request)
● Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist (subject to employers request)
● Help with dispensing tablets when I am unwell
● Assistance with medication i.e. organizing my medication into daily segments once a week. Ordering new medication when running low.
● Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example organizing employers space and wardrobe
● Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') subject to employers request
● Mealtimes e.g. basic meal prep. Liaising with employers immediate family of when meals need to be prepped
● Physiotherapy exercises, subject to employers request

Social: 
● Driving / Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
● Driving/ Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, subject to request of employer
● Driving / Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
● Driving / Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails subject to employers request
● Occasional longer journeys
● Driving / Accompanying on trips out e.g. to see family.
● Driving and accompanying to social events such as: Lectures, Cinema, Gallery Events
● Accompanying on trips out e.g. to take photographs at the beach or in the woods or, visiting friends, walking dog
● Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events, attending therapies and disability group
● The above duties will involve driving the employer in the employer’s car OR accompanying the employer in the employers car should they be well enough to drive.
● Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities
● Assisting with transfers to and from the employers wheelchair to the employers car seat SHOULD they be driving

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
● Female * due to personal care needs and respect of privacy
● Ability to be flexible due to the employers care needs. When I am independent, I am able to a lot of things myself. The focus will be more so on domestic and social care. However when I am in a pain crisis, bedside and personal care will be imperative.
● Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality.
● Experience supporting people who have mental health problems.
● Reliable with good time-keeping. Imperative that the applicant follows the required hours of the employer
● Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
● Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
● Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
● Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
● Honest and cheerful
● Creative
● Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
● Some skill in Maths in order to help employer with basic financial matters
● Confident with working alongside employers family members
● Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
● Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives