Job Title: *Female Personal Assistant
Location: Chichester
Hourly rate: £11.00
Reference: DP3584
Hours/shifts: One full day a week between 8am – 6pm = Monday or Tuesday (some flexibility in shift time and days can be confirmed at interview. Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 4pm-6pm = total 6 hours a week to drop off and pick up from college.

Summary:

I am a looking for a personal assistant for my 17-year-old daughter. She is a chatty and friendly young girl who has a keen interest in cooking and music. She loves shopping, arts and crafts and trying new activities and sports when the opportunity is available.
My daughter uses an electric wheelchair to get out and about and does need support with day to day personal care tasks. This role consists of supporting my daughter in the home, by getting her ready for the day, preparing her food and doing activities together.
On the days that she goes to college, you will accompany her to get there and back safely. The college is within walking distance from our home, alternatively you can take the bus.
The successful applicant will be friendly and be able to complete personal care tasks, all training and guidance will be provided. This is a rewarding role where you have the opportunity to have a positive impact on a young person’s life.


Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Description
Typical duties

Domestic:
Preparing food

Personal Care:
• Assistance with showering as required
• Using the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') using a hoist
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food


Social:
• Accompany my daughter to and from college
• Support to take part in social activities such as shopping, bowling, eating out.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female * due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives