Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Location: Bognor Regis
Hourly rate: Up to £12.00 per hour
Reference: DP5228
Hours/shifts: Hours for Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Weekends
Hours are available between 07:15 and 21.30.
Also some later evenings may become available after lockdown.
Shifts can be flexible and a job share is available so please apply for any hours you can cover.

Summary
• I am a young adult woman, with cerebral palsy looking for support, so I can be Independent and start doing things within my limits.
• I know what I need; I just need support in completing the tasks.
• I would like to learn more on my IPad using excel, numbers and pages.
• An ideal candidate would be someone highly organised with a methodical approach and proficient managerial skills so you have the ability to motivate me to achieve.
• I am looking for a PA to support and develop my time management and organisational skills, helping me to plan day to day routines and tasks

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Preferably have a UK driving licence
• And be happy to drive my adapted van
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
I am looking to have support for longer term planning and support with steps towards independence. Whilst day to day support is very important to me, planning my future and building up skills to help me become independent is also a crucial part of this role.
Much of the support I will need will be to teach me to become more independent and able to carry out daily living skills. This would include learning to cook and developing good paperwork habits.

Typical duties
Domestic:
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Preparing drinks, snacks and evening meals.
Tidying
Correspondence e.g form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf
Any other reasonable task

Personal Care:
•Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
•Hoisting getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Hoisting onto and off the toilet
• Dressing and undressing
• Assistance with getting in and out of bed using a hoist
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting to get changed at swimming pool.
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. preparing meals, mashing food and feeding
• Assisting with Physio, stretching exercises
• Any other reasonable task

Social:
Accompanying and assisting on shopping trips when required
Accompany me when accessing social and leisure activities and days out
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
The above duties will involve driving me in my adapted Van

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
Female * due to personal care needs
Ideally you would enjoy cooking and preparing meals, getting me involved where possible.
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives