Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Location: East Grinstead
Hourly rate: £12.00 per hour, overnight rate negotiable according to experience.
Reference: DP5497
Hours/shifts:

20 hours a week, Monday – Friday between the hours of 9am – 4.30pm, Overnight Monday and/or Friday 8pm – 8am

job share available so please apply if you can do any of the above days and shifts.

Summary

• I am looking for a personal assistant to help me live independently, help with personal care, domestic duties, and social activities.

• I am a chilled out young woman, with Cerebral Palsy, Epilepsy, and a range of other health problems. I live with my parents who support me.

• I am non-verbal and would really love someone who loves to communicate and is as sociable as I am. I’d like someone who would be willing to take me out for activities on the days I’m able to go or spend time with me indoors and listen to music when I’m not.

• Because of my epilepsy, I can become unwell during the night, so I’d need someone who is flexible with the hours they can work, so they can start early in the mornings if needed, to help give my mum a break.

• Any experience with PEG feeding, using hoists and Epilepsy would be a huge benefit, although training can be provided if you don’t have any.

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Other:

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic:
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing, and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting, and vacuuming.
Preparing drinks, snacks, and meals.
Any other reasonable task

Personal Care:
• Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• To be on call when employer takes bath
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Using the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
• Help with dispensing tablets
• Assistance with medication i.e., helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool/gym.
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Peg Feeding
• Any other reasonable task

Social:
Accompanying on trips out e.g., to the park, to see family.
The above duties will involve driving me in my adapted car
Any other reasonable task

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female* due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good timekeeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common-sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives