Job Reference No  DP5890
Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Job location:  Pound Hill Crawley
Hours/shifts:   3-4 hours term time. 4 hours in holidays
Hourly Rate:  £9.25. £13 when looking after both young adults
Requirements: 
*Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 applies 
Must be comfortable with pets 
Must have a UK driving licence
Must have access to own vehicle 
Other
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Summary: 
I am a mother to my 15 year old daughter who has Down’s Syndrome. She is thoughtful and engaging but can display challenging behaviours. She enjoys many different activities including swimming, bowling and theme parks. I am looking for a patient and reliable PA to help her access the community and increase her independence, by taking her to various activities.
Her challenging behaviour can manifest as attention seeking or boredom and she can push people both known and unknown often without warning. She will require constant supervision when interacting with others particularly those younger than herself.
My daughter has communication difficulties and uses Makaton signing to aid communication but can be difficult to understand particularly as she has hearing problems. Experience preferred but not essential as full training will be given.
45p per mile mileage.
You will also required to work with my son on occasion.
Typical Tasks will include

Personal Care:   
 To help my daughter with toileting in that she will need reminding or she will have an accident.
To help  and supervise with getting dressed and personal care in general whilst encouraging independence.
Social:            
Accompanying my daughter when accessing social and leisure activities, including swimming, bowling and going to theme parks.
The above duties will preferably involve driving the employer in the PA’s car. 
Keeping my daughter safe when out and about and helping her  to remember about stranger danger and the green cross code.
Supervising and supporting my daughter’s interaction with others so it is safe and enjoyable.

Person Specification -The successful applicant will be: 
Female * due to personal care needs 
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Creative
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.