Job Reference No  LR5891
Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Job location:  Pound Hill Crawley
Hours/shifts:   3-4 hours per week term time, 4 hours a week during holiday
Hourly Rate:  £9.25 £13 per hour when supporting both young adults
Requirements: 
*Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 applies 
Must be comfortable with pets 
Must have a UK driving licence 
Must have access to own vehicle
Other : 
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Summary: 
I am a mother to my 17 year old son who has Down’s Syndrome. He is very easy going , friendly and enjoys many different activities including swimming,  bowling and theme parks.
I am looking for a patient and reliable PA to help him access the community and increase his independence, by taking him to various activities  and to after school club. 
My son has communication difficulties and uses Makaton signing to aid his communication, but can still be difficult to understand, also hindered by hearing problems. He can make decisions when given two options, but will be overwhelmed with too much choice.
My son has special dietary : gluten and wheat free with reduced sugar and no sweeteners.
You will also be required to work with my daughter and her Personal Care needs so will require a female *Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 applies 

Experience preferred but not essential as full training will be given. Also support at home with letters and pronunciation
Mileage paid at 45p per mile driver preferred
Typical Tasks will include

Personal Care:   
Helping with aspects of personal care as required. For example on the odd occasion that he is incontinent assisting him to change his clothes.
Social:         
Accompanying my son when accessing social and leisure activities, including swimming, bowling and going to theme parks.
The above duties will preferably involve driving the employer in the PA’s car. Keeping my son safe when out and about and helping him to remember about stranger danger and the green cross code.
Supervising and supporting my son’s interaction with others so it is safe and enjoyable and help him to be aware of his and others personal space.
Person Specification 
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Creative
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.