Job Title: Female*Personal Assistant

Location:  Worthing          

Hourly rate:   £10.10/hour

Reference: DP5956   

Hours/shifts: 2 hours per week at address to be advised, to be worked one evening a week 7-9pm

Other hours as agreed (not guaranteed) for day trips outside the home and the odd evening’s cover / overnight cover.

 

Summary

We are a family living in Worthing. Our daughter is 7 and half years old and has a diagnosis of Autistic Spectrum Disorder.  She is generally a smiley, happy child with a wicked sense of humour!

We are looking for a committed, caring and enthusiastic person with experience of working with ASD, to provide one evening’s support per week, plus occasional day trips and occasional other evenings (to be agreed).

We are an easygoing family who are flexible and pleasant to work for.  We do expect a high level of professionalism and dedication to your work with our daughter.

She has social communication difficulties and can become fearful or anxious in social or community settings.  She also has sensory processing difficulties and, at times, can find it upsetting to be touched, especially around her head.  However, she is very affectionate and does enjoy cuddles if she has instigated them.  Her great sense of humour means that she can often be distracted from anything that has made her anxious with a joke.

 

Other Requirements

*Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -   

You will not be required to undertake any specific domestic tasks.  You may need to pour Ella a glass of milk before bed and you may be required to clean up after any spillages.  Gloves and cleaning products will be provided as necessary.

   

 

Personal Care: 

Supporting our daughter to use the toilet hygienically.  (She may need help pulling her clothing up and down, and in wiping herself after a bowel movement.  She will need reminding to wash and dry her hands.)  Our daughter is almost never incontinent of urine.  However, if she did have an “accident” you would possibly to asked to clean up after such an “accident”.  Gloves and cleaning equipment will be provided. Support with Bathing.

 

Social:   

If out and about in the community / on a day trip, you will be required to:

 

  • Keep Ella safe
  • Focus on her inclusion in everyday activities
  • Manage her behaviour should she become anxious or upset (guidance will be provided)
  • Assisting with Homework.

  • Person specification

The successful applicant will have the following qualities:

 

  • a bubbly, enthusiastic personality
  • calm under stress / pressure
  • firm but kind
  • Have a knowledge of autism and experience of working with children with ASD
  • Confident and able to work under own initiative
  • Not afraid to ask questions
  • Consider the safety of Ella as of paramount importance

We welcome questions and are always open to your suggestions about working with our daughter