Job Title: Female Personal Care Assistant- Immediate Start
Location: Midhurst
Hourly rate: £11.00
Reference: DP6820
Hours/shifts: 14 Hours per week

Monday to Friday – between 2 ½ - 3 hours each day

Times needed - 3pm - 6pm or 4pm – 7pm

Open to job share/please apply even if you can only work some of the days.

• I am a 31 year old lady who has a disability which causes fatigue and chronic pain.
• My condition can vary from day to day, this means that the level of support I need each day is changeable.
• I am looking for a supportive and proactive person who can support me with things like; showering, general running of my home, preparing meals and accessing the community.
• I have two children who are 4 and 5 years old. I am looking for a Personal Care Assistant who can support me in my role as a mother.
• Experience with children preferable but not essential.
• I require a driver with their own car so they're able to support me/my children in getting out into the community.
• Starting rate £11 per hour
• This is a rewarding role with all professional training provided.

Other Requirements

• Must be comfortable with pets as I have a big dog and a Bengal cat.
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Experience with children preferable but not essential.
"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Typical duties

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning such as washing up
Taking out rubbish
General housework, for example some tidying up/sweeping.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Correspondence e.g. help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Personal Care:
• My disability and chronic pain/fatigue is unpredictable in it's nature and sometimes I may need more or less support with personal care duties. However they would include:-
• Assistance with showering and drying my hair/brushing as required.
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• Assistance with dressing as required
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets and a reminder to take them.
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food as required.
• Supporting me physically with my two children and their needs for example bathing/dressing/meals.

• Supporting me physically in my caring role for my two children, for example if I am too unwell, taking care of meals/popping to shops/soft play/park.
• Supporting with the nursery/school morning run.
• Accompanying me when accessing social and leisure activities with my children.
• Accompanying me to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Trips out e.g. to the library, the park, cafes, shops.
• The above duties sometimes may involve driving me or my children in the PA’s car.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female due to personal care needs
• Respectful of privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this role you will be employed directly through the individual and not Independent Lives