Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Location: Chichester
Hourly rate: £15.00 per hour weekdays and £15.50 per hour weekends and bank holidays, mileage paid at 45p per mile
Reference: DP6950
Hours/shifts: Tuesday: 9.30-11.30 or 10.00-12.00, Thursday 9.30-11.30 or 10.00-12.00
Occasional Saturdays if possible and cover for other weekdays when my other PA is off if possible 

Summary 

• I am looking for enthusiastic and organised female PA’s with good sense of humour to support me at home and out and about
• The role will be to assist me with some personal care; some cleaning; dog walking; and to go out and about (including to the gym and pool)
• Because of managing life around chronic health conditions, I have to be as organised as possible and am not able to make last minute changes to plans; it is important that potential PA’s understand this and are able to work in a similar fashion.
• I have severe allergies (including to nuts and some perfumes/beauty products) so need PA’s who understand the seriousness of this and of not bringing/wearing these products into my home.
• I enjoy swimming and going to the gym and am gradually increasing my exercise levels. I am also undertaking a Masters degree and work with children with special educational needs and disabilities (very part time).
• I require a driver with their own car so we are able to go out and you would need to like dogs as I have a very friendly dog. I may be getting a specialist car that my power wheelchair can go in but you’d need to be over 25 to drive this. For now, I use my folding manual chair when going out by car and you’d need to be able to fold this and lift it in and out of a car.
• This is a rewarding role and any training will be given either in house or on relevant courses.

Other Requirements 
•"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets as I have a lovely dog
• Non smoker required due to medical reasons
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other:
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Description
Typical duties
Domestic:
Laundry: washing, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning/housework
Taking out rubbish
Minor household maintenance e.g. changing light bulbs; taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks, and meals
Getting isotonic drinks ready and reminding me to drink them
Occasionally helping maintain and set tube feed
Shopping
Posting letters
Walking my dog with or without me

Personal Care: 
• Help with washing hair
• Helping to get dressed
• Help getting into and out of shower as required
• Help with putting medication into dossit box
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting to get changed at swimming pool/gym and coming into the pool/gym with me (you will not be required to pay for this, or any other activity, that we do together)
• Help and encouragement with physiotherapy exercises
• Knowing how to administer emergency medication – training will be given

 Social: 
• Helping me to organise myself so I don’t take on too much
• Accompanying and assisting on shopping trips when required
• Accompany when accessing social and leisure activities, including: swimming, the gym, the cinema
• Accompany me to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Occasional longer journeys
• The above duties will involve lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car
• Accompanying and assisting with some leisure activities, including going out for coffee/to the cinema sometimes (you will not be required to pay for this)

• Person specification:
The successful applicant will be: 
• Female * due to personal care needs
• Non smoker due to medical reasons
• Like dogs
• Driver with own car – mileage will be paid when going out
• Be able to swim if I need support in the pool
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.