Job Title: Female Personal assistant
Location: Durrington West Sussex
Hourly rate: £12.50
Reference: DP7006
Hours/shifts: 15 hours per week including 1 day of weekend

Summary 
• I am an 82 year old woman with Dementia
• I need support with personal care and require a shower 3 times a week
• I may require support and accompaniment to medical or other appointments if necessary
• I am bubbly and enjoy a good sing song and listening to music
• I love to go for the occasional coffee across the road in my wheelchair
• Rate of pay is £12.50 per hour

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Other : Would be useful to have own vehicle but not essential
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Putting washing on line and radiators
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Personal Care:
• Washing and bathing/showering – drying hair
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• Help getting into and out of shower as required
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin car
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting with changing pads
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Preparing lunch and drinks

Social:
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when she wants to buy clothes
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Accompanying on trips out
• Driving and accompanying to social events such as: wedding next year
• Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events
• The above duties will involve driving id PA has a car but only occasionally and lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out.
• Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities
• Lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives