Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Location: Tarring
Hourly rate: £11 per hour
Reference: GN5675
Hours/shifts: 10 hours per week (days) plus cover of holiday hours for PA already employed. One extra 6 hour shift a month to be a weekend day this may vary each month. To start ASAP

Summary 
You will be working with a friendly family. The employer will be with me (Mum) and you will be working with my older teenage daughter who has Wolfram Syndrome and a Tracheostomy. Normally based within the home environment.
My daughter can be shy at first until she gets to know you. Due to deterioration of sight, things need to be kept in their place and routines followed. This is also essential due to her being on the Autistic Spectrum.
My daughter has Type 1 Diabetes which is normally well controlled, however on rare occasions she may have a hypo and require extra blood tests and the appropriate action taken. She will need comfort if this happens.
We are trying to encourage my daughter to improve her independent skills and to try out new activities. We would like the PA to assist in taking her out to any activity clubs suitable for her or to just visit the shops. She needs to try to socialise a bit more than she does currently. Due to balance issues she will use a wheelchair when away from the home.
All training will be given and you must be prepared to attend training courses as required.

Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets- We have 2 cats and a dog
• Must be a non smoker for medical reasons
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - 
On a some shifts you will be required to administer correct insulin dose,
Heat up and serve her a meal,
Give her a morning or afternoon snack and to ensure that she drinks regularly.

Personal Care
Helping to change incontinence pads,
Personal hygiene,
Putting any wet clothes in washing machine if at home or on return home.
Helping to check Blood Glucose & administer insulin when required or to treat hypos or hypers.
Suctioning of Tracheostomy tube as required. Emergency tube change if required
Administering medication when required
Any other appropriate tasks required and agreed

Social: 
• Take out on trips locally, shopping, to any activity clubs
We are currently looking into possible day centre placements. Shifts may be changed during school holidays with prior agreement.
Any other appropriate tasks as required and agreed. Do activities, reading, art etc.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:  
Female Due to Personal Care needs
Be reliable,
A non-smoker (essential),
Punctual, friendly, amenable,
Happy to work with an older teenager,
Happy to lone work,
Trustworthy and willing to follow directions and procedures as per family’s instructions.
Able to empathise with a teenager losing her sight, suffering with memory loss, balance issues and affected by a rare condition.
Happy to undergo training as required.
Happy to work in a home with pets.
Preferably have some knowledge about Tracheostomy and/or Diabetes care.
Someone like-minded who will have similar interests

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common-sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives