Job Title: Female Personal Assistant
Location: Tarring, Worthing.
Hourly rate: £11
Reference: JL5675
Hours/shifts: 10 hours per week (plus sickness/holiday cover for another PA). 6 of those hours to be worked on alternate Saturdays.

Summary
The work will be with a friendly family. The employer will be mum; and you will be working with her teenage daughter who has Wolfram Syndrome and a tracheostomy. The role will normally be based within the home environment.

The young lady can be shy at first until she gets to know you. Due to deterioration of sight and balance & autistic tendencies, things need to be kept in their place and routines followed.

Other Requirements
Available to start asap (after paid training). 5.6 weeks paid holiday. Days to work will be fixed on alternate weeks (Monday, Thursday or Friday with either a Saturday or Sunday every other week). Shifts may be changed with prior agreement.

Description
Your role will be to support the young lady by suctioning when required, tracheostomy care, diabetic treatment and personal care. You will preferably have knowledge of these, however full training will be given.

Your shifts will be over 2 weekdays (although on alternate weeks a 6 hour shift will need to be on a weekend day, generally a Saturday with the other shift that week being 4 hours on a different day).

The young lady has Type 1 Diabetes which is normally well controlled (however on rare occasions she may have a hypo and require blood tests and the appropriate action to be taken).

All training will be given for all tasks; and you must be prepared to attend training courses as required.

We are trying to encourage the young lady to improve her independent skills and to try out new activities. We would like the PA to assist in taking her out to any activity clubs suitable for her or to just visit the shops. She needs to try to socialise a bit more than she does currently.

Routines are important.

Due to issues with balance, the young lady has a wheelchair for outings out.

She likes creative activities such as art, cookery and creative writing. She also likes pampering sessions with pedicures and nail painting.

Typical duties

Domestic -
You will be required to administer correct insulin dose for mealtimes, heat up and serve a meal, give a morning or afternoon snack and to ensure that she drinks regularly.

Personal Care:
Helping to change incontinence pads,

personal hygiene, putting any wet clothes in washing machine if at home or on return home.

Helping to check blood glucose & administer insulin when required or to treat hypos or hypers.

Suctioning of trachy tube as required.

Social:
Take out on trips locally, shopping, to any activity clubs, spa etc.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:

Be reliable,

a non-smoker (essential),

punctual, friendly, flexible, amenable,

happy to work with a young adult,

happy to lone work,

trustworthy and willing to follow directions and procedures as per family’s instructions.

Able to empathise with a teenager losing her sight, her balance and affected by a rare condition.

Happy to undergo training as required.

Happy to work in a home with pets.

Preferably have some knowledge about Tracheostomy and/or Diabetes care. 


Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives