Job Title: Female* Personal Assistant
Location: Haywards Heath
Hourly rate: £9.00 - £10.00
Reference: LR 7040
Hours/shifts: 
Saturday and Sundays
2 hours each day actual time by mutual agreement.

Summary
• I am a young woman with Multiple Sclerosis (MS), mobility issues and fluctuating pain, living in Haywards Heath with my two young sons.
• I have good days and bad days but have a positive outlook and am a relaxed and easy going person and enjoy crafts and spending quality time with my family.
• I am looking for a reliable and motivational PA to support me with day to day living
• Tasks will include some personal care, meal preparation, light domestic tasks and to support me with caring for my young sons and to help me access the community.
• This is a rewarding role with all professional training provided

Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading airer
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care: 
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair for employer .
Assist with bathtime for employer’s children
Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
To be on call when employer takes bath or shower.
Assistance with applying cream
General hair/skin care
Assistance getting to the toilet
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Help with dispensing tablets.
Assistance with medication i.e. helping take tablets from packets.


Social: 
• Taking my sons to school .
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required.
• Accompany employer and sons when accessing social and leisure activities, such as visits to family
• Driving and accompanying on trips out eg local park, other attractions
• Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
• The above duties will require lifting the wheelchair in/out of the PA’s car where applicable.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
• Female* due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives