Job Title: Female* Personal assistant
Location:      West End, Southampton      
Hourly rate:  £9.50
Reference:    MV1572        
Hours/shifts: 21 hours per week, to be discussed at interview.
Summary 
28 year old lady requires a female personal assistant to help her live Independently. The role is varied and involves supporting her to live at home but also get out and about.

Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."  
• Must be comfortable with pets
Full UK driving licence and own vehicle desirable. 
 Other :  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic -        
• Washing up/drying up/put away.
• Clothes washing-I need help to get washing out and hang up. Please prompt me so I don’t leave washing for days.
• Change bin and take bins out to wheelie bins.
• Change cat litter and put bin out
• Prompt and encourage with house cleaning. We can plan clean days and team work in that task. I find cleaning is a good distraction but I can’t do everything then that task becomes too overwhelming and frustrating.
• Mop floor
• Help me manage my life
• Change bedding when needed
• Help me with my daily reset.
• Help me with organising my day
• Check my calendar for appointments and if so help me get ready.
• Help me to plan my day if there are no appointments
• Also I need help to gather and prepare/cook some meals.
Personal Care: 
• Help with transferring where needed
• Support with toileting
• Showering-transferring
• Gathering products
• Each time  ask with confidence (that it’s  ok…)if I need any help in washing as some days I do but so far in life I’ve never had someone that wants to help me wash other than mum and best friend who I can’t ask to help me. I need an outside carer that cares!
• Help me to gather my clothes if I can’t reach
• Help me to take off/put on bra-again ask me daily if I need help and hopefully this will build my confidence in knowing there’s carers that want to care so I feel I have a life and worth a life.
• Prompt and encourage me to go through my mental health-ask if there is any sheets
• Prompt and encourage me to eat, help organise my food and drink within the day’s plan-I need structure
Prompt and encourage me to go to the toilet.
Social:   
•  If needed be up for accompanying me to appointments
• Helping me go to the shops and be able to go to a shop for me for groceries when needed
• Come for a walk with me to get out in my chair being with someone
   Encourage me to go out to just do nice and good things for me-I struggle to do this.
Other tasks:
• Be open minded
• Be patient-I need time and space to breath when doing tasks so I can try stay on the task that we’re presently doing at the time
• Ability to adapt
 Person specification
The successful applicant will be:   
• Female * due to personal care needs 
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.