Job Title: Personal Care Assistant
Location:  Haywards Heath          
Hourly rate:  £9.10 ph weekdays and £10.10ph weekends
Reference: NDS6872           
Hours/shifts: Total of 20 hrs a week. Will consider job share. Up to 3 PAs to cover the hours and to provide cover for each other in the case of holidays and sickness absence.
Monday - 1 hr evening - after work help at home and shower supervision
Tuesday - 6hrs during the day - to accompany me on a trip out on my day off
Wednesday - 2 hrs evening - after work help at home and shower supervision
Thursday - 6hrs during the day - take me to and from my therapy appointment, accompany me on an outing afterwards
Friday - 3 hrs during the day - accompany me to appointments and help at home
Sunday - 2 hrs evening - help at home Am able to be  fairly flexible with the timings and days of some of these hours. Opportunity for some overtime and to accompany me on some short trips away for the right person.
Summary
I am a 27 year old young lady who is creative, very intelligent (so I’m told!), loves the outdoors and being busy! I have PoTS - Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome. PoTS is a dysfunction of the autonomic nervous system that affects the heart. My heart rate and blood pressure do not adjust well to postural changes. I can’t stand for long. Prolonged sitting (and just generally being upright!) can also increase my symptoms. It affects my mobility. I am at high risk of fainting. I am also quite severely heat intolerant. I also suffer from complex, long term mental health problems. The support I am looking for is more around my physical health. However, an interest, awareness or willingness to learn about mental health is essential. I am looking for someone who will feel more like a friend to me than a carer. Someone to be willing to take their lead from me as it is important to me to keep as much independence as possible.
Other Requirements
"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."   
Must have a UK driving licence and be able to drive me in their own car. 
The person/s must be comfortable with pets. I have two very lovely outdoor rabbits who I will need assistance with cleaning out. I may also be getting a cat soon.
Experience with First Aid would be an advantage but full training will be provided
• Other :  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic -       
I will also need some help with some domestic tasks around the home. There are some tasks that I am not able to do myself. There are some tasks that I am able to do with supervision and assistance. On the whole, the domestic duties will be fairly light. They may include;
Domestic tasks may include;
Laundry: hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away/Laundry:
Loading and unloading the washing machine / tumble dryer / washing line
Changing bed linen / making the bed/
General cleaning/housework
Taking out rubbish
Minor household maintenance

Personal Care: 
 I will need someone to simply be in my home while I bathe or shower as I live alone and these activities increase my risk of fainting. This is the full extent of personal care I require;
Supervision / assistance with bathing/showering. Drying or styling hair. To be on call whilst person requiring support bathes / showers.
Social:   
I am mainly looking for a PA/PAs to help me get out and about more safely and easily by driving me in their own car, to help me access activities in my local community, and to help monitor my medical condition while I’m out in the community and to assist with maintaining my safety if I was to faint.    
• Accompanying and assisting on shopping trips
• Accompanying during social and leisure activities
• Accompanying during doctors / hospital appointments
• Accompanying and assisting when buying clothes (trying on clothes, lifting clothes from rails)
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips out
• Driving and accompanying to social events and activities

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
A background in first aid would be useful, though not essential, training can be provided
Female due to personal care needs 
No previous experience necessary, just a kind and compassionate nature, and a willingness to learn. I truly believe and hope that this will be a really fun and enjoyable role!
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety