Job Title: Female Personal Assistant/ Support Worker

Location:          Ringwood,Hampshire  

Hourly rate:         £8.50

Reference:           SG1476  

Hours/shifts: 2.5 hours per week to be used flexibly.

Summary

  • I am a 27 year old lady looking for a positive, outgoing Personal Assistant to support me for 2.5 hours per week.
  • I require support with general domestic duties and assistance with washing and dressing
  • I have Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and Fibromyalgia
  • I am a friendly, fun, bubbly girly girl who likes colouring, swimming and snuggling up watching Netflix when I’m feeling poorly. I also like to treat others how I would like to be treated myself.
  • Experience preferred but training can be given if necessary

 

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must be comfortable with cats

        

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -        

Laundry, hanging out to dry, putting away

Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line

Changing bed linen

Bed making

General cleaning

Taking out rubbish

Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Shopping

Maintenance of a small balcony

Tidying

Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork, making phone calls, booking appointments

 

 

Personal Care:  

  • Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
  • Help getting into and out of shower as required
  • Assistance with applying cream
  • General hair/skin care
  • Assistance getting to the toilet
  • Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
  • Getting into bed
  • Assistance with getting out of bed
  • Help with medication
  • Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting me to get changed at swimming pool.
  • Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
  • Mealtimes e.g. peeling/cutting food
  • Physiotherapy exercises

Social:     

  • Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
  • Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming  and hydrotherapy.
  • Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
  • Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un-dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
  • Occasional longer journeys
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, the vet, meditation classes, yoga, to see family.
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to take photographs at the beach or in the woods or, visiting friends.
  • Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events, attending therapies and disability group
  • lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out.
  • Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Female* due to personal care needs
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to this role.