Job Title: Female* Personal Assistant/Support Worker
Location:     Burgess Hill       
Hourly rate:  £9.50
Reference:  LR6664          
Hours/shifts: 23 hours a week Monday – Sunday
Am shift between 10am – 1pm
PM shift between 5pm-8pm
Actual shift start and finish times by mutual agreement
Job share available
Summary
• I am a 36 chatty young woman who needs some help in my own home. I have well managed epilepsy and among other things I am a wheelchair user
• . I am looking for a female carer(s) who are ok around dogs as I look after a friends dog which happens to be great therapy.
• I'm looking to have someone who is a multitasker as I can chat a lot! Someone  who can help me manage all aspects of day to day living including things like laundry and housework along with personal care.
• Jobshare available
• Training will be provide with  the possibility of further professional training.
Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."  
• Must be comfortable with pets 
• Other :  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic -       
Daily cleaning of CPAP machine training will be given
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Assistance with placing food in oven and handling hot foot
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care:  
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
Assistance with applying cream
General hair/skin care
Compression wraps application
Dressing and undressing/ helping with lower limbs dressing
Help with dispensing tablets  prompting and preparation
On occasion getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
Physiotherapy exercises
Social:  
Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities.
Accompany employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Occasional longer journeys
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library,to see family.
Driving and accompanying to social events such as:
Cinema
Church
Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car (if applicable), lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out.
 Person specification
The successful applicant will be:     
• Female * due to personal care needs 
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.