Job Title: Female* Personal Assistant

Location: Chichester area       

Hourly rate: £10.00        

Reference: VC3607             

Hours/shifts: Mondays & Wednesdays - 8.00 am – 5.00 pm

Summary

 

I am a 22 year old lady with a learning disability who has just started her first voluntary job in the Chichester area

  • I have a bubbly personality and enjoy being kept busy and having fun
  • I need support to help me carry out my new role safely and to the best of my ability, giving me space and independence whilst remaining in my vicinity to assist me when needed and to ensure my continued safety
  • Predominantly I need assistance when communicating so as I can fully understand and follow instructions
  • I also need you to be on hand whilst I’m eating so I don’t choke or have an allergic reaction and to help me access the toilet
  • I need someone who can administer my Epi-pen medication when required
  • Ideally you will have experience working with young people with Special Educational Needs
  • I often get anxious and sometimes take time to get my point across so need my PA to be a good listener, patient and understanding
  • I require a driver with their own car as the role will involve collecting me from my home and taking me to my workplace `
  • This is a rewarding role with all professional training provided……

 

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

 

Personal Care: 

  • To assist with accessing toilet cubicle/bathroom safely (I do not need help with undressing/toileting/washing)
  • To ensure my safety when I am eating/drinking so as I don’t choke
  • To ensure I do not come into contact with nuts as I have a severe Nut Allergy
  • To administer medication as required (training will be provided)

Social:   

  • To collect me from my home in your own car and take me to my place of volunteering
  • To assist me in carrying out my volunteering role safely and to the best of my ability
  • To assist me when communicating so as I can fully understand and follow instructions
  • To be aware that I get anxious

 

 Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

Female * due to personal care needs 

A driver with own car

  • Ideally experienced in working with young people with Special Educational Needs
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.