Job Title: Female* Personal Assistant
Location: Near Arundel           
Hourly rate:  £10.00 
Reference:    VC6800a
Hours/shifts:
1 x 3 hour shift between the hours of 19.00-22.30pm on a Monday weekly and a Thursday once a month
2 x weekend shifts of 5-6 day time hours per month (as mutually agreed) - Job Share considered
Summary:

I am a lady who is Spinal Cord injured with tetraplegia and who uses a wheelchair

I need someone to support me in my home whilst my husband is out, mainly to ensure my safety and to be on hand should I need support or assistance.  


You should be reliable, patient, empathic and respectful of my dignity and privacy

Other Requirements
• *"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."  
• Must be comfortable my dog.
 Access to own car essential

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to 5.6 weeks paid Holiday per year (pro rata) and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties
General/Social:   
Ensuring my safety at all times
Sitting with me whilst my husband is out

Domestic:       
Occasionally preparing drinks and snacks

Personal Care: 
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Assistance with hoisting e.g. in to bed
• Assistance with dressing and undressing
• Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female * due to personal care needs 
• Comfortable around my dog
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles