Job Title: Female*personal assistant with admin support
Location: Lancing
Hourly rate: £10.00
Reference: DP4836
Hours/shifts: Monday – Friday 7.30am -12noon. Times can be flexible depending on activities involved.

Summary 

I am a young, friendly woman looking for a Female* Personal Assistant with good IT and admin skills, to join an existing team of PA’s.

I have cerebral palsy and epilepsy and am physically unable to carry out most tasks but am passionate about my rights to live my life the way I choose and want full control over my independence.

Assistance is required with all aspects of my daily life, including personal care, administration, some domestic tasks and accompanying me to social activities. I need someone with good IT skills, who can use programs such as Word and Excel to help me with my household and employer paperwork.

I have a busy social life and am looking for a friendly, patient, outgoing carer who can support me to maintain my independence, who can learn to recognise when I need help and be responsive to my needs.

This role will require you to drive me in my own wheelchair adapted vehicle.

At least NVQ level 2 or 3 is preferred

Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets and not allergic to cats.
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours or away from the house during their break.
• Be happy to take regular lateral flow tests
• Must have a UK driving license
• Other: As this position involves you driving my car, I am restricted to employing people who are aged 25 years or over due to insurance rules.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

The role requires close personal contact with an individual who is extremely vulnerable to the risk of infection and disease transmission. Preference may be given to applicants who have been fully vaccinated against Covid-19. Careful consideration will be given to applicants who can show the vaccination is not suitable for them on reasonable grounds.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -

General cleaning and tidying up when required including cleaning down surfaces and hoovering.
Support me to Identify when PA’s training expires and to help book training courses.
Support to help me train other PA’s when necessary
File household and employer paperwork
Assistance with payroll admin i.e. timesheets and form filling
Posting paperwork
Reading letters and emails and help with writing replies.
Making phone calls on my behalf if required
Form-filling and any other administration tasks as required
Making drinks for the employer's guests
Respond to emergency calls if required

Personal Care: 
Washing and showering – towelling dry, drying hair and brushing as required
Supervision and assistance throughout showering experience.
Help to get in and out of the shower as required using hoist. In the mornings I will have 2 PAs to assist with this. On other occasions you will be required to use the hoist by yourself.
Assistance with applying cream if required.
General skin and hair care
Dressing and undressing including help with buttons and fastenings
Support to go to the toilet by either using a bottle or using the hoist to get me on and off the toilet
Medication dispensing as directed by me i.e. helping to take the tablets from the foil/packets and putting the medication in my mouth, using a nebuliser.
Assisting with getting in and out of bed using the hoist
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting me to get changed in the swimming pool/gym and be happy to get in the pool with me.
Support at mealtimes e.g. preparing and cutting up food and assistance to eat.
You will need to support me with chest physiotherapy exercises and other physiotherapy daily; training will be provided.
Getting me in and out of the wheelchair
You must be happy to manually push my wheelchair when needed
Support with other reasonable care tasks when required

Social: 
Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required
Accompanying when clothes buying, including help with undressing/dressing and lifting clothes off the rails
Accompanying me when accessing social and leisure activities, including swimming and art classes and seeing friends.
Accompanying me on longer journeys e.g. to London by car or train to get my splints reviewed
Accompanying on trips out e.g. the vet, the church, theatre group, work, pubs and cafes, cinema, theatre and shows
Some of the above duties will involve driving my car, which I am wheeled into, and pushing my manual wheelchair when out.
Assisting me and another carer to go out for a daily walk.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
Female* due to personal care tasks
Respectful of my privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to follow instruction from me and also work on own initiative
Hygienic
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest, cheerful and with a good sense of humour
Someone who will take time to listen to me and work out what I want
Good IT and admin skills
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the united kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of health and safety

Previous experience with epilepsy and the use of nebulisers is ideal but training can be provided.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives