Job Title:  Female* Personal Assistant/Support Worker

Location:  Poynings

Hourly rate:  £9.00      

Reference:  LR6590         

Hours/shifts:

20 hours per week

Monday –  Friday 10 am – 2pm

 

 

Summary

  • I am a woman in my forties with mobility issues and fluctuating pain.
  • I have good days and bad days but have a positive outlook and a sense of humour.
  • I have a young family and will need support in my caring role.
  • I require support with day to day living, including personal care, meal preparation, light domestic and accessing the community.
  • This is a rewarding role with training provided.

 

 

 

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Must have a UK driving licence          

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -       

Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away

Helping with laundry, washing and drying

Loading and unloading the washing machine

Loading and unloading airer

Changing bed linen

Bed making

General cleaning

Taking out rubbish

General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.

Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Shopping

Tidying

Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork

Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Making tea for the employer's guests

 

Personal Care:

Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair

Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required

Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required

To be on call when employer takes bath or shower.

Assistance with applying cream

General hair/skin care

Assistance getting to the toilet

Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings

Help with dispensing tablets.

Assistance with medication i.e. helping take tablets from packets.

 

Social:   

  • Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
  • Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, such as visits to family
  • Driving and accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events.
  • Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
  • The above duties may involve driving the employer in the employer’s car (subject to insurance age restrictions), lifting the folding walker or wheelchair in/out of car.

Person specification

The successful applicant will be:

  • Female * due to personal care needs
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.