Job Title: Female* Personal Assistant/Support Worker
Location: Worthing
Hourly rate: £10.00
Reference: LR7150
Hours/shifts: 2 overnight 12 hour shifts per week 8pm- 8am on Wednesday and Sundays.
Induction for up to 16 weeks will ideally Monday and Thursday evenings and every other Sunday from 6pm to 9pm other days may be possible by mutual agreement.

Summary 
• I am a happy 12 year old girl and enjoy art activities and books. My father will be your employer.
• I have various health needs and require assistance at night so I am looking for a experienced and patient PA to help with this a couple of times a week (2-3 times may be to begin with shorter duration until we know each other well)to give my parents a break.
• Tasks will include personal care and assist with my evening and night routine.
• All professional training will be provided .
• In order for me to build up trust with a new carer there will be an initial induction period of 3 hour evening shifts and this will be for up to 4 months.

Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.

• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check and provide details of two referees one ideally from current/last employer.
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Personal Care:

Personal care including Oral Hygiene/providing shower /changing nappies/pads
Positioning properly in wheelchair and bed – postural management
Use of hoist - transfer from chair to toilet/ bed / bath tub
Bi Pap care at sleep time
Cough Assist usage once a day
Gastrostomy feeding once during the night shift
Administering required Medication
Physiotherapy
Following correct procedure for moving and handling
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
General hair/skin care
Skin integrity
Applying creams as required
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required


Social: 
Taking my daughter out into the community and engaging in activities she enjoys.

Person Specification:
The successful applicant will be: 
• Female * due to personal care needs
• Committed to providing a good standard of care
• Willing to adjust to changes in need throughout the day and respond to them
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives