Location: Angmering / Hourly rate: £10 / Reference: DP4869

Summary
• I am lady with MS, looking for a female* personal care assistant to join my existing team
• I am severely affected by the condition but still have a positive outlook.
• I am married, and my husband is also my main carer, but also works 3 days a week.
• I have two grown up children.

Hours/Shifts

Tuesdays, 3 hours from 3-6 pm. Every Wednesday 8:30 am – 5 pm

"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description


Nature of the work:

To support me whilst my husband is at work.

Domestic -
Laundry, ironing, putting away
Changing bed linen
Bed making
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests
Other tasks maybe required on an ad-hoc basis, a can do approach will be needed.

Personal Care:
Assistance with washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Assistance with applying cream
Assistance with general hair/skin care
Assistance with catheter care
Assistance to use the toilet
Assistance with dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Assistance with getting in and out of bed using a hoist
Assistance with getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
Assistance at mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
Assistance with physiotherapy exercises
Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
Any other reasonable task


Female* due to personal care needs
Non-smoker
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping, due to my husband having to work, the hours are not flexible.
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred. (This is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles)