Job Title: Cover Female Personal (care) Assistant.
Location: Croydon, near Lower Addiscombe Road
Hourly rate: £10 weekdays. £11 weekends (rate negotiable for the right applicant)
Reference: CC170
Hours/Shifts: Weekend carer(s) needed for 2 hour morning call and 1 hour evening call for both Saturday and Sunday.

AND Cover carer(s) needed to provide cover across the week. Hours would be on an ad hoc basis.

Flexibility available, happy to discuss the hours to mutually agree times for the right applicant.

I live at home with my husband and adult son who both work and I have a service dog. I enjoy reading, keeping up with current affairs, listening to music, taking my dog for a walk and watching television. I have been learning Spanish and enjoy other languages; I have an interest in art and visiting art galleries. I am a happy outgoing person who likes to meet new people and keep as independent and active as possible.

This role is to assist and support me in my daily living tasks that I can’t manage independently and that are becoming increasingly difficult. This includes personal care.

I’m a wheelchair user and need assistance with transfers, I have two types of hoist that I use daily, a standing hoist and ceiling hoist, training will be provided. A PA with experience is preferred but not necessary.

Holiday pay and training will be provided.

This is a rewarding role and your support that you will provide in this role is extremely valued and appreciated.

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Be comfortable with dogs – a well trained service dog.
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description - Typical duties

Light housework, including tidying/cleaning e.g. kitchen and bathroom.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Occasional shopping
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care:
Assistance with washing and showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Assistance with oral and nail care
Assistance with applying cream
Using the toilet
Assistance with transferring from bed/chair/toilet using a standing hoist and/or ceiling hoist
Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eating when required

Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying on occasion to Spanish classes, the library, the vet, the park, physio classes.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
Female* due to personal care needs
Must be comfortable with the family service dog
Experience of using a hoist or willing to learn
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives