Job Title: Female* Personal Care/Support Worker

Location: Lindfield            

Hourly rate: £11-12 per hour        

Reference: DP2374  

Hours/shifts: 1 – 1.5 hours 4-5 nights a week starting from 10 – 10:15 pm, although the hours can be flexible. Job share available so please apply if you can do any days

 

Summary

 

  • Married, Disabled lady in her 70’s with muscular dystrophy who is a full time wheelchair user, looking for cheerful capable and reliable ladies to help me with my nightly routine.
  • I employ other care assistants who will be available to guide you through my routine initially, but this role will be working on your own
  • I am a sociable person who enjoys a good chat and enjoy the company of people who have a great sense of humor and have a keen interest in people & current affairs
  • I enjoy being with family, meeting friends, eating out and other social activities
  • I like the theatre, cinema, art, reading, music, birds and gardens
  • An awareness of disability and experience of working with a disabled person would be useful but not essential

Other Requirements

"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."               

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -      

Helping with laundry, washing and drying

Wiping and cleaning surfaces when required

Tidying up

Taking out rubbish

Preparing drinks

Filling hot water bottle

Opening and closing the windows when required

Locking of external doors when required

Any other reasonable task as required

 

Personal Care:   All transfers from chair are made from using a powered mobile hoist

Positioning on commode and wheeling me through to shower/wet room

Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings

Assistance with applying cream

Hanging folding up clothes

Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') using hoist onto bed

Positioning in my bed

Assistance with medication

Putting Hoist and wheelchair on charge

May need additional help when poorly

Any other reasonable task when required

 

The successful applicant will be:

Female * due to personal care needs 

Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality

Reliable with good time-keeping

Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative

Good at listening and carrying out tasks as directed

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Patience, Honest and cheerful

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.