Job Title: Female * Personal Care Assistant
Location: Crawley
Hourly rate: £10.00
Reference: DP7037
Hours/shifts: 12 hours a week, ideally 12pm-4pm 3 days a week. Days to be discussed at interview

• I am a lady in my late 20’s with both physical and neurological conditions, symptoms of which vary in severity daily.
• I am a full-time wheelchair user. Most days I am bed bound due to pain but on good days I like to be able to sit indoors or take my dog for a walk.
• I am looking for a PA(s) support me with all aspects of daily living so I can live as independently as possible.
• Tasks will include personal care, light domestic duties, accompanying me to appointments and feeding and taking my dog for a walk.
• I am looking for a calm and ideally experienced personal assistant (PA) who can be flexible and able to work when directed but also be able to use initiative.
• This is a rewarding role with training provided.

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Typical duties

• Laundry, hanging out to dry, putting away
• Helping with laundry, washing and drying
• Loading and unloading the washing machine
• Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
• Changing bed linen
• Bed making
• General cleaning
• Taking out rubbish
• General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming
• Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
• Shopping (small amounts/ odd bits)
• Dog care feeding and walking.
• Tidying
• Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
• Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
• Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care:
• Assistance washing on bed or showering –drying hair
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Help with dispensing tablets from blister pack

• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities and dog walking.
• Accompany employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
Female * due to personal care needs
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives