Location: Small Dole, Henfield / Hourly rate: £10-14 / Reference: KB4482

Summary

Carer/Nurse/PA to assist with caring for a mentally and physically disabled 28yr old female requiring continuous care, 2-3 days per week, to join our existing team of carers.  You will be working with another carer each day.  You need to be very outgoing and bubbly, sociable, have a sense of humour, not be afraid to sing songs and nursery rhymes out loud, be reliable, conscientious and able to work on own initiative, but also able to follow procedures accurately.  The job involves driving and supporting her at her day centre and full care and support whilst she is at home.

Hours/Shifts

2-3 days per week.

Days currently available = Thursdays Fridays and alternate Saturday and some Sundays if possible. 

Other Requirements

*Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 applies

Must have a UK driving licence

Must have access to own vehicle

Other :Non smoker

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

About the employer:

Reporting to: Mother of disabled child 

My daughter is severely mentally and physically disabled and requires continuous support. She is very sociable and generally happy, but is also extremely vulnerable.  She requires a lot of assistance with everyday tasks, inc full personal care.  She has a mind of her own with a great sense humour and a touch of mischievousness. 

Nature of the work:

Carer/Nurse/PA required for a 28yr old female with severe learning disabilities, she also has a tracheostomy / laryngectomy, a corrected spinal scoliosis and epilepsy.  She lives at home with her mother and brothers.  She attends a day centre 5 days a week.  She requires 2 x carers daily to give her support in these activities, as well as helping to manage a tracheostomy and her epilepsy, and to promote learning, recreation and socialisation into her life. This includes transporting her to and from her activities in the PA’s own car (Mileage Paid) and supporting her at home.  She is a very happy, sociable girl with a good sense of humour.

More important is having plenty of common sense, responsibility and 100% reliability and the ability to follow procedure accurately and carefully, and to remain calm in all situations.  CRB/Police checks required.  Hours could be flexible as I have a team of Personal Assistants but ideally looking for 2-3 day’s full time per week with additional occasional weekend/evening work by agreement.  

Normally the carers work 8:30am to 5.30pm but must be able to cover hours between 7:30am and 8pm on some occasions.  These long days are normally split 7:30am – 5pm and 9am – 8pm.

Full personal, some medical, domestic and social care will be involved in the role. Full training will be given. 

Typical duties

Domestic -      

General household duties relating to the care of my daughter.  Maybe additional house hold tasks whenever she sleeps.

  • Helping with laundry, washing and drying
  • Loading and unloading the washing machine
  • Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
  • Changing bed linen
  • Bed making
  • General cleaning
  • Taking out rubbish
  • General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming. 
  • Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
  • Tidying

Personal Care:  

  • Full personal care is required
  • Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
  • Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
  • Assistance with applying cream
  • General hair/skin care
  • Catheter care
  • Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
  • Getting into bed
  • Assistance with getting out of bed
  • Assistance with medication 
  • Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting my daughter to get changed in swimming pool/gym.
  • Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') 
  • Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
  • Physiotherapy exercises 

Social:        

  • Accompany my daughter when accessing social and leisure activities
  • Accompanying to doctors/hospital appointments when required
  • Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
  • Occasional longer journeys
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, walks, cinema, garden centre, beach craft fairs, local visits, attending social events, attending therapies, accompanying to social meetings e.g. friends, family.

The above duties will involve driving my daughter in the PA’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing my daughters wheelchair when out.  Alternatively you will be required to assist and guide my daughter when she walks. 

At home my daughter likes most things, musical toys, press button toys, painting and being sung to!

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • 100% reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions accurately and work on own initiative
  • Strong Hygienic ethics, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Additional Information
  • Full guidance and training will be provided from the employer
  • Additional Information
  • Full guidance and training will be provided from the employer.