Job Title: Female * Personal Care Assistant/Support worker (Holiday and Sickness cover)
Location: Birdham, Chichester
Hourly rate: £10.50, £11 Bank Holidays
Reference: NDS382
Hours/shifts: Holiday and sickness cover when required. Up to 16 hours per week, daytime hours.

Summary 

I am a warm, caring and friendly lady and I am easy to get along with. I am looking for a patient, understanding female PA/support worker, who has an upbeat personality and good sense of humour to help bring out the best in me.

I require support with personal care, domestic duties and social activities and I will need encouragement to get out of the house. I would like to find new interests in the local area and would like someone who can help me take the first steps to do this.

My interests are varied including coins, reading, swimming and musical theatre. My family and grandchildren are very important to me and spending time with them is something I love to do particularly in the school holidays. I will need someone to assist me to partake in activities with them.

Domestic duties will include a thorough clean of hygiene areas i.e. wet room and kitchen once a week.

Other Requirements 
• * "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work
hours.
• Must refrain from involving the employer in any social media
• Must have a Full, Clean, UK driving licence
• You will be required to drive my disability car. There is a hoist in my disability car which
my partner can train you how to use.
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Thorough clean of hygiene areas i.e. Wet Room and Kitchen
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Maintenance of small garden
Tidying
Other reasonable domestic tasks as and when they arise.

Personal Care: 
Assistance with personal hygiene as and when needed
Assistance with washing and showering. I try to do as much as I am able but I do need help.
Assistance with applying cream
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Assistance with medication (some of my tablets have specific times so I will need you make sure I take them).
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool and accompanying them in the pool.
Other reasonable tasks as and when they arise.

Social:
Driving and accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Driving and accompanying employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming, theatre and appointments.
The above duties will involve driving the employer in their car.
Other reasonable tasks/activities as and when they arise

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
Female * due to personal care needs
Someone chatty that I can have a laugh with.
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Hygienic and well organised. Due to the nature of my disability, hygiene is very important to me
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives