Job Title: Female Personal Care Assistant/Support Worker

Location: Worthing        

Hourly rate: £9.50 per hour      

Reference:   TM6754          

Hours/shifts: 12.5 hrs per week, over a Monday, Wednesday and Friday

(hours/times to be arranged/agreed)

Summary

 

  • I am a 26 year old mother of two young children. I have a 4yr old boy (who will be at school most of the time) and 10 week old little girl.
  • I am looking for a PA to help me gain confidence in accessing my local community. For example using public transport, visiting places, shopping and participating in leisure activities.
  • I also need help and assistance around the home e.g. assistance with preparing meals.
  • I am a stroke survivor with some residual right sided weakness and some difficulties with memory and fatigue. I also have very high functioning Autism.
  • I require a P.A to be child friendly and to have both stroke and autism awareness.
  • I am a friendly and easy going person who enjoys being a mum to my children.
  • I am looking for a friendly outgoing person to help me regain skills, confidence and help me get the most out of life.

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."

 

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic – assist with;      

Loading and unloading the washing machine/colour sorting /hanging out to dry

Changing bed linen

Bed making

Taking out rubbish, if required.

General light housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.

helping me organise my personal spaces.

Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs if necessary

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Shopping/budgeting for a shop

Tidying

Correspondence e.g. filling appropriately

Making phone calls/message and note taking in order for me to remember content.

Helping me to fully equip baby bag for outings ensuring I have my house keys before we leave.

Helping me plan and organise appointments and outings including bus/train time table reading.

Supporting me in collecting my little boy from school at 2pm.

 

Personal Care: 

Helping with buttons and fastenings.

Assistance with medication i.e. please ask the question “have you taken your tablets this morning?” as a prompt to do so if I have not already taken them.

 

Social:   

Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required.

Accessing public transport timetables and time management for trips.

Accompany me when accessing social and leisure activities, visits to the park and

soft play activities (for the children).

Accompanying me to doctors/hospital appointments when required.

Occasional longer journeys.

Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, shops, craft fairs, visiting  family and friends attending social events, attending therapies and mother and toddler groups.

Accompanying to social events such as: Cinema or an evening meetings.

The above duties will involve possibly the folding and lifting of a pram in/out of car

(taxi) if one is used the pushing the employer’s babies pram if I become fatigued whilst

out.

Supporting me at home watching TV and assisting with craft activities.

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Female * due to personal care needs
  • NON Smoker due to the client’s medical conditions and working with a very young baby.
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality

Reliable with good time-keeping

Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative

Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills

Honest and cheerful

Creative

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach

to these roles.