Job Title: Female Personal Care Assistant
Location: Bognor Regis (Middleton-On-Sea)
Hourly rate: £11
Reference: TM7405
Hours/shifts:

Additional flexible/casual hours on Saturdays and School holidays (Up to 13 hours per week)

Summary
• I am in search of a Personal Care Assistant to look after my 7 year old daughter, so that I can have some respite from my caring role.
• My daughter has Autism and a learning disability. She is very energetic, affectionate and has a great sense of humor.
• The role will involve taking my daughter to fun and leisure activities such as walks in the woods, playing on the beach, soft play, swimming, and days out.
• My daughter is nonverbal but is really good at finding ways to communicate what she wants and needs.
• Support will be needed with all aspects of personal care like dressing, changing nappies and help with eating.
• The work will involve keeping up with a very energetic 7 year old who loves getting muddy! A pushchair is always on hand as my daughter does not have an awareness of danger.
• The applicant will need to have their own car so that all sorts of activities can be assessed.

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Any domestic tasks associated with the care and wellbeing of the child.
Tidy up after activities
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Wash/dry up/put away kitchen/cooking equipment after preparing snacks/meals for the child

Personal Care:
• Dressing and undressing
• Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
• Changing nappies as required
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example helping child to get changed at swimming pool.
• Getting child in and out of the pushchair/car seat
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat

Social:
• Supporting, caring and ensuring the safety of the child whilst accessing fun and leisure activities such as;
- Walks on the beach/woods.
- Visiting the park.
- Soft play.
- Days out to places like Fishers Farm.
- Playing with the child at her home.
- The above duties will involve driving the child in the PA’s car, lifting the folding pushchair in/out of car, pushing the child’s pushchair when out.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
Female due to personal care needs
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Creative
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives