Job Title: Female Personal Assistant

Location: Burgess Hill           

Hourly rate: £9.50 per hour       

Reference:DP5564           

Hours/shifts: 10:30am – 2:30pm every Thursday, there may be occasional overnights and extra hours may needed and

Summary

 

  • I am a 56 year old easy going, bubbly woman and wheelchair user living in my own home
  • Who enjoys shopping and accessing my local community….
  • I am looking for an open minded personal assistant to support me with some aspects of personal care, general housework and assist me to access my local community in a safe manner.
  • I live in Burgess Hill not far from the train station and bus stops and within walking distance into the town centre




 

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • No smoking permitted on work premises or during working hours
  • UK driving licence desirable but not essential
  • Other :

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -       

Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away

Helping with laundry, washing and drying

Loading and unloading the washing machine

Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line

Changing bed linen

Bed making

General cleaning

Taking out rubbish

General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.

Washing Floors

Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Shopping

Any other reasonable task


Personal Care: 

Assisting with washing hair and bathing

Helping me dress/undress

Assisting me to access the toilet
Any other reasonable task

Social:   

Assisting me to access my local community

Any other reasonable task

 

 Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

Female due to personal care needs 

Be able to undertake the full range of tasks

Good communication and written skills with a good command of the English language.  Ability to demonstrate an attitude which supports personalisation – i.e. supporting me to exercise choice and control over my life, and enabling me to make decisions in all aspects of my life and home.

Ability to address issues of concern in a calm and professional manner with respect for appropriate workplace procedures

Not smoke at work

Be honest and able to respect privacy and confidentiality

Be able to carry out the full range of tasks to a high standard

Be cheerful, positive and confident at all times and to present a positive demeanor to others.  To be able to act appropriately in different social settings (e.g. visiting friends and family, at appointments, shopping, at the pub/cafe)

Be reliable and maintain good hygiene

Must have a current DBS check or be willing to have one completed;

 

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.