Location: Horsham/ Hourly rate: £9.50/ Reference: DP5586

Summary

I am a lady in my late 20’s and a wheelchair user with MS. I am looking to employ two Personal and Social Support Assistants. 

You will be required to assist me both within my own home with general household tasks and aspects of personal care facilitate me to access my local and greater community.

My health can fluctuate daily and this will have an effect on the type of support I require daily.

A willingness to drive me in my own converted vehicle on occasions would be an advantage. 

Hours/Shifts

14-24 hours a month.

Tasks to include getting ready for the day, help around the house, accompany on outings in the community.

1st Friday of every month 6:30 - 7:30am (paid time and a half for early start) additional early mornings may be required.

Hours/times to be agreed. 

Other Requirements

*Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 applies

Must be comfortable with pets

Must have a UK driving licence

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Assisting me with the following:

SOCIAL ACTIVITIES such as…

Must be willing to drive me in my converted car.

Accompanying and assisting employer shopping

Assisting  employer to access social and leisure activities

Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments

Driving and accompanying to social events such as: Cinema, theatre, shopping, Lunch, day trips, visits, planned appointments, visiting friends etc.

HOME ACTIVITIES

Preparing drinks, meals and snacks.

Day to day household tasks such as ironing, washing, hanging out clothes, changing bed linen, 
general cleaning’ taking out rubbish, vacuuming etc.

Assist with shopping and putting items away.

PERSONAL CARE SUPPORT


Towelling dry hair and lower body

Assistance getting into and out of bath

To be on call while I am bathing

Assistance with hair washing

Assistance dressing/undressing

Plus any other related tasks that may be required. 

Person specification

ESSENTIAL CRITERIA:

  • Be able to undertake the full range of tasks
  • Good communication and written skills with a good command of the English language. 
    Supporting me to exercise choice and control over my life, and enabling me to make decisions in all aspects of my life and home.
  • Ability to address issues of concern in a calm and professional manner with respect for appropriate workplace procedures
  • Be able to respect privacy and confidentiality
  • Be honest and trustworthy
  • Be cheerful, positive and confident at all times and to present a positive demeanor to others.  To be able to act appropriately in different social settings (e.g. visiting friends and family, at appointments, shopping, at the pub/cafe)
  • Be hygienic and maintain good hygiene
  • Must have a current DBS check or be willing to have one completed;
  • A full driving licence (clean)
  • A friendly, positive and common sense approach to the role along with the ability to learn is far more essential than previous experience although a knowledge of MS and it effects would be a beneficial.