Job Title: Female Personal Support Assistant
Location: Littlehampton
Hourly rate: £10 to £13 per depending on experience
Reference: DP4736
Hours: up to 21 hours per week, hours to be discussed, some flexibility possible

Summary 
My daughter is a 22 year old but has a mental age of a young child. She also has Cerebral Palsy and is a wheelchair user. She loves going to the beach and having an ice-cream and Cinema and theatre trips are another love of hers. She loves being read to and responds well to someone who is bubbly and lively that can encourage her. She has a brilliant sense of humour and enjoys having a giggle. I need a Personal Assistant to be motivated and help her to get out and about and try new things as she has some anxiety in new places. She will also need support with her personal care within the home.

Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• UK driving license is essential to drive mobility car.
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Personal Care: 
• Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
• Help getting into and out of wet-room as required using a hoist
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
• Help with dispensing tablets
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool.
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food
• Physiotherapy exercises, training will be provided.
• Support with brushing her teeth.
• To ensure the corners of her mouth are dry from saliva to avoid soreness.
• Support to change and replace incontinence and sanitary items.

Social:
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming, cinema, theatre and the beach.
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library and other local events
• Possibly accompanying to day centres etc.
• The above duties could include driving our mobility car if you have a UK license, using a winch to get wheelchair in/out of car, pushing my daughter’s wheelchair when out.
• Whilst on duty at the employer’s home keeping my daughter occupied and engaging her in crafts and other activities.
• Pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female * due to personal care needs
• To have similar interests to my daughter and be confident and outgoing
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest, cheerful and creative
• To be able to think outside the box and encourage my daughter.
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
• |Must be fit enough to carry out required duties
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives