Job Title: Female* Support Worker

Location: Chichester

Hourly rate: £8.50 with opportunity for increase dependent on experience.

Reference: DP1110

Hours/shifts: Monday Wednesday Friday 09:00 – 17:00 & Saturday 11:00 – 17:30

 

Summary

I am an active, outgoing and friendly 24 year old woman with Cerebral Palsy and I’m looking for a Support Worker who can help me get out and about.

I enjoy lots of different activities including bowling, shopping and visiting my local Scope club.

I can speak a little bit, but I’m not fully verbal, so a patient person who’s kind, energetic and upbeat would be perfect!

I’m also ideally looking for a dog lover with a clean driving license as I have a van I use to get around and a (very friendly) cocker spaniel I hang out with when I’m at home.

 

 

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Other :

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Personal Care: 

  • Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
  • Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
  • Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
  • To be on call when employer takes bath
  • General hair/skin care
  • Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
  • Getting into bed
  • Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
  • Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
  • Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat

Social:   

  • Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
  • Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities,
  • Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
  • Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with lifting clothes on/off the rails.
  • Occasional longer journeys
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, the vet, meditation classes, to see family.
  • Driving and accompanying to social events such as:
  • Cinema
  • bowling
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to take photographs at the beach or in the woods or, visiting friends.
  • Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events, attending therapies and disability group
  • Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
  • The above duties will involve driving the employer in the Employer's car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out. Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities
  • Pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out. 

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Female * due to personal care needs
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
  • Happy in the company of dogs
  • Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.